Microsoft KB Archive/928038
Article ID: 928038
Article Last Modified on 5/14/2007
- Microsoft Office SharePoint Server 2007
This article contains guidelines for administrators and for end-users about how to manage the Group Approval workflow process in Microsoft Office SharePoint Server 2007.
Note The Group Approval workflow process is only available if any of the following versions of both SharePoint Server 2007 and Microsoft Office Enterprise 2007 are installed:
- Chinese (Traditional)
- Chinese (Simplified)
We recommend that administrators use the following guidelines for managing the Group Approval workflow process:
- Administrators must block the Approval History list manually. Administrators should modify the permissions setting for that list so that only administrators can access the list. The URL of the list is http://
- The Group Approval Users group does not exist and is not required for Group Approval. Ignore the sentence in Help that says differently.
- Administrators should handle the documents manually when the status is "Error Occurred."
- When an organization is deleted or modified, the corresponding folder is deleted or modified automatically. However, the automatic modification can fail when the document in the folder is being used. In that case, administrators need to delete or modify the folder manually.
- We cannot display the Approval Line Settings dialog box correctly and cannot resolve a role which includes that user if the user information fields of a user contain special characters such as the following:
" & > < '
- When a task is assigned to an isolated user by using delegation, the workflow cannot continue. The submitter or an administrator should cancel the document manually.
- If a receiving organization is set for a template, and the organization is deleted, the template edit form of that template will not open. Administrators can delete the template by using the My Approval Settings dialog box as long as there are no documents based on that template. Administrators can hide the template by setting the visibility for that template in the Change Template Order dialog box and the Visibility dialog box.
- When there is a document or a folder that needs manual operations by administrators, we recommend that you use a cut-and-paste operation instead of a copy-and-paste operation. Otherwise, you may lose some property data.
- If you use Microsoft Office Word templates and encounter a message saying "This workflow cannot be started until the document has finished loading," you must wait awhile, and then continue. The time that you must wait is proportional to the length of the document.
- If you want to re-submit a canceled or a rejected document, you must use the Save As dialog box to save the document. Otherwise, you cannot see the Start button on the message bar, and a new document ID will not be issued.
- During the Group Approval workflow, the document will be reloaded from the server when the content of the document has been changed by other users. However, the reloaded document can be opened in Edit mode even though it was originally in Read Only mode. To approve the document, you must close and then open it again in Read Only mode.
- Group Approval is available only if Microsoft Office Professional Plus 2007, Microsoft Office Ultimate 2007, or Microsoft Office Enterprise 2007 is installed.
Additional query words: MOSS2007 MOSS 2007 SPS kblangKO kblangJA kbLangZH-CN kbLangZH-TW
Keywords: kbtshoot kbexpertiseinter kbinfo KB928038