Microsoft KB Archive/173614
Article ID: 173614
Article Last Modified on 1/20/2007
- Microsoft Excel 2000 Standard Edition
- Microsoft Excel 97 Standard Edition
- Microsoft Excel 2004 for Mac
- Microsoft Excel X for Mac
- Microsoft Excel 2001 for Mac
- Microsoft Excel 98 for Macintosh
This article was previously published under Q173614
In Microsoft Excel, when you save a shared workbook and resolve conflicts in the workbook, worksheets that previously were hidden may become visible.
This problem will occur if a conflict occurs on a hidden worksheet.
If a conflict occurs on a hidden worksheet, you cannot prevent this problem from occurring. You can, however, manually rehide any worksheets that should be hidden by following these steps:
- Switch to the worksheet that you want to hide.
- On the Format menu, point to Sheet, and then click Hide.
After you have rehidden any of the worksheets you want to hide, save the workbook.
Microsoft has confirmed that this is a problem in the Microsoft products that are listed at the beginning of this article.
When you share a workbook in Microsoft Excel, multiple users can simultaneously make changes to the workbook. When you save a workbook that is shared, the Resolve Conflicts dialog box will appear if two or more users have typed different values into a cell in a worksheet in the workbook. You can use the Resolve Conflicts dialog box to determine what value is retained by the cell.
When the Resolve Conflicts dialog box appears, if the worksheet where a conflict occurs is hidden, the worksheet will be unhidden, no matter what button you click (Accept All Mine, Accept All Others, Accept Mine, Accept Other, or Cancel).
Additional query words: XL97 XL2000 MacXLX Mac XLX XL2001 XL98
Keywords: kbprb KB173614