Registrations are now open. Join us today!
There is still a lot of work to do on the wiki yet! More information about editing can be found here.
Already have an account?

Microsoft KB Archive/170526

From BetaArchive Wiki
Knowledge Base


Article ID: 170526

Article Last Modified on 10/31/2006



APPLIES TO

  • Microsoft Windows NT Workstation 4.0 Developer Edition



This article was previously published under Q170526

SYMPTOMS

After you reinstall Microsoft Windows NT Workstation version 4.0, all your settings, profiles, and files saved to your desktop may be missing.

CAUSE

This behavior can occur when you perform a full Windows NT Workstation installation, rather than an upgrade, over an existing installation of Windows NT Workstation.

RESOLUTION

Re-create your settings and profiles in the new installation.

MORE INFORMATION

When you perform a full installation of Windows NT Workstation, all user registry settings are removed. The full installation process assumes that there is no Windows NT folder and therefore does not look for settings to move to the new installation; all registry settings are rewritten. The Profiles folder is re-created to include only the files and folders that are present in a new installation. Because files saved to the desktop are saved in a folder in the Profiles folder, the files are deleted. To preserve your settings, Profiles folder, and any information contained in the Profiles folder, you must choose the Upgrade option during Setup when you reinstall Windows NT Workstation.

The following folders may be present in the Winnt\Profiles\<name> folder

  • Application Data


  • Desktop


  • Favorites


  • NetHood


  • Personal


  • PrintHood


  • Recent


  • SendTo


  • Start Menu


  • Templates

where <name> is the name you use to log in to Windows NT.

Keywords: kbenv kbsetup KB170526