Registrations are now open. Join us today!
There is still a lot of work to do on the wiki yet! More information about editing can be found here.
Already have an account?

Microsoft KB Archive/169144

From BetaArchive Wiki
Knowledge Base


Changes to User Profiles Are Not Saved

Article ID: 169144

Article Last Modified on 2/23/2007



APPLIES TO

  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Server
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Advanced Server
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional Edition
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Datacenter Server
  • Microsoft Windows NT Workstation 3.5
  • Microsoft Windows NT Workstation 3.51
  • Microsoft Windows NT Workstation 4.0 Developer Edition
  • Microsoft Windows NT Server 3.5
  • Microsoft Windows NT Server 3.51
  • Microsoft Windows NT Server 4.0 Standard Edition



This article was previously published under Q169144


SYMPTOMS

When a user makes changes to his or her user profile, and then logs off and logs on again, all changes to the user profile have been lost. No error messages are generated. If the user is made an Administrator of the local workstation, all changes to the user profile are retained properly.

CAUSE

The user is not a member of the local workstation Users group. If a user is not an explicit member of the local workstation Users group or another group other than the Guest group, the user is considered a Guest. All Guest profiles are deleted when the user logs off and changes are not saved.

RESOLUTION

Add the user to the local workstation Users group.


Additional query words: roam roaming settings can't preserve lost

Keywords: kbdomain kbprb KB169144