Registrations are now open. Join us today!
There is still a lot of work to do on the wiki yet! More information about editing can be found here.
Already have an account?

Microsoft KB Archive/168844

From BetaArchive Wiki
Knowledge Base


Article ID: 168844

Article Last Modified on 2/24/2005



APPLIES TO

  • Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 4.0 Standard Edition
  • Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 4.0 Standard Edition
  • Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 5.0 Standard Edition



This article was previously published under Q168844

SYMPTOMS

The Undo Check Out command does not operate as expected if you have the Compare Files By option set to Time and the Set Date/Time on Local Files set to Current.

CAUSE

When you set Compare Files By to Time, the algorithm used to determine whether a Get should be performed is based on a comparison between the timestamp on the local copy of the file and the timestamp on the last check in for the file.

If the timestamp on the last check in is more recent than the timestamp on the local file, Visual SourceSafe does the Get and overwrites the local copy of the file. If the timestamp on the local file is more recent than the timestamp on the last check in, Visual SourceSafe does not do the Get, and the local file is not replaced.

RESOLUTION

Do one of the following:

  • Set Compare Files By to CheckSum instead of Time.
  • Remove the local copy of the file, and then perform the Get/Check Out.


STATUS

This behavior is by design. This problem was corrected in Visual SourceSafe version 6.0.

MORE INFORMATION

If you perform an Undo Check Out with the above options set in Visual SourceSafe, unexpected results occur.

For example, you have a file checked out and you have edited it. The local file (the one you are editing) has a more recent timestamp on it than the last checked in copy of the file. After you have edited and saved the file you decide you really do not want the changes you made, so you go back to SourceSafe and perform an Undo Check Out on the file. You get the warning message stating that all your changes will be lost if you perform an Undo Check Out. You click Yes and Visual SourceSafe does not copy the changes in the local file back to the server.

When you Get or Check Out the file again, Visual SourceSafe sees that the timestamp on your local file is more recent than the timestamp on the last check in. Visual SourceSafe does not perform the Get, and the local file is not replaced. As a result, you see all the changes you thought you had discarded instead of the unaltered copy you thought you retrieved by performing the Get.

Keywords: kbbug kbfix kbssafe600fix kbusage KB168844