Registrations are now open. Join us today!
There is still a lot of work to do on the wiki yet! More information about editing can be found here.
Already have an account?

Microsoft KB Archive/168634

From BetaArchive Wiki
Knowledge Base


Article ID: 168634

Article Last Modified on 12/4/2001



APPLIES TO

  • Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 5.0 Standard Edition
  • Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 6.0 Standard Edition
  • Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 4.0 Standard Edition
  • Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 4.0a
  • Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 4.0 Standard Edition
  • Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 4.0a



This article was previously published under Q168634

SUMMARY

You can use the -d switch on Analyze.exe to delete unnecessary files from the database. This switch will not delete all unnecessary files, only those that meet a certain condition.

MORE INFORMATION

Under most circumstances, when you delete a file from a SourceSafe project it will delete the associated file pair from the SourceSafe database (usually the VSS\DATA directory.)

However, if a file is branched to another project and then deleted, SourceSafe does not delete the associated file pair from the database because it needs those files to maintain the history of the branched version.

Even when the branched version is subsequently deleted, its associated file pair is not deleted.

The only time the -d switch on Analyze will delete files from the SourceSafe database is when it detects a file that was involved in a branch at one point, and no branched versions of the file are now active (not deleted) in the project tree.

REFERENCES

For additional information, please see the following article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:

190881 SAMPLE: Analyze6.exe Utility for Visual SourceSafe


(c) Microsoft Corporation 1997, All Rights Reserved. Contributions by David de Groot, Microsoft Corporation

Keywords: kbinfo KB168634