Registrations are now open. Join us today!
There is still a lot of work to do on the wiki yet! More information about editing can be found here.
Already have an account?

Microsoft KB Archive/103650

From BetaArchive Wiki
Knowledge Base


Article ID: 103650

Article Last Modified on 2/19/2007



APPLIES TO

  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Server
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Advanced Server
  • Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional Edition
  • Microsoft Windows NT Advanced Server 3.1
  • Microsoft Windows NT Workstation 3.1
  • Microsoft Windows NT Advanced Server 3.1
  • Microsoft Windows NT Workstation 3.51
  • Microsoft Windows NT Workstation 4.0 Developer Edition
  • Microsoft Windows NT Server 3.51
  • Microsoft Windows NT Server 4.0 Standard Edition



This article was previously published under Q103650


SUMMARY

Network connections made using the AT command are persistent for all users on a system. The AT command runs using the System account and Schedule service. Creating network connections under the System account makes the connections persistent for all users who log on and log off the computer. However, this type of connection is not saved as a normal persistent connection. If the computer is rebooted, the connection is no longer present.

Network connections made using the AT command can be removed using the System account or by an Administrator. This type of network connection is similar to the Common Program Groups an Administrator can create in Program Manager.

MORE INFORMATION


Steps to Reproduce Behavior

  1. In the Control Panel window, choose Services and start the Schedule service if it is not already started.
  2. Create a batch file named Atnetuse.bat containing the following command line:

    NET USE W: \\servername\sharename

  3. Use the AT command to run ATNETUSE in 5 minutes. For example:

    AT 12:00 ATNETUSE.BAT

  4. After ATNETUSE is run by the AT command, the persistent drive W will available in a Command Prompt and in File Manager.
  5. Drive W is represented by a network drive button in File Manager, but the share name \\servername\sharename does not appear after W: in the drive drop down dialog box. The NET USE command from a Command Prompt (Cmd.exe) will not show drive W or \\servername\sharename, but you can use drive W as a normal network drive. Also, drive W is now a drive for all Users. No matter who logs in, everyone will get the drive W even though it is not in any user's persistent connections.

A user without Administrator privileges logged in with this type of persistent connection present cannot remove the connection unless the AT command is used.

Use one of the following methods to remove the connection:

  • Use the AT command to schedule disconnecting the drive with a NET USE W: /D command.
  • An administrator can use the NET USE W: /D command from a Command Prompt.
  • Shut down and restart the computer.



Additional query words: 3.10 prodnt

Keywords: kbnetwork KB103650