Windows NT 3.5 setup error (VirtualBox)

Discuss Windows 2000, NT, XP and Windows Server 2000, 2003, SBS 2003.
Post Reply
ftosorciM
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2021 7:56 pm

Windows NT 3.5 setup error (VirtualBox)

Post by ftosorciM »

Hello, I'm trying to install Windows NT 3.5 using VirtualBox. The setup goes ok until it asks for a driver called "BusLogic Family", I pressed "S" choosing the 3 "UltraStor" options until one of them works, but none did; then I pressed Enter to skip that driver, but the setup stopped again and it said:

"Setup is unable to locate the hard drive partition prepared by the MS-DOS portion of Setup.
When you run the MS-DOS Windows NT Setup program, you must specify a temporary drive that is supported by Windows NT. See your System Guide for more information.
Setup cannot continue. Press F3 to exit."

Then I restarted the VM and inserted a MS-DOS 6.22 bootdisc to make a FAT MS-DOS partition; and then I inserted the Windows NT 3.5 bootdisc again and did the steps it said, but the setup failed again.

These are my VM specs if they are required:

Name: Windows NT 3.5
Version: Windows NT 3.x
RAM: 96MB
Chipset: PIIX3
Video memory: 20 MB
Graphics: VboxVGA
3D: enabled
Storage: 1 floppy disc and 1 SCSI virtual hard disc (4GB)
Audio: SoundBlaster16
Network: NAT and Bridged

Darkstar
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1059
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 1:29 pm
Location: Southern Germany

Re: Windows NT 3.5 setup error (VirtualBox)

Post by Darkstar »

You need a BusLogic driver on a floppy disk (image) for the SCSI harddisk. Good luck finding one though. I think I've only ever seen those for NT4 or newer versions...

It might be easier to switch VirtualBox to a different SCSI (or IDE) adapter for the harddisk. Or use a proper emulator like 86box
I upload stuff to archive.org from time to time. See here for everything that doesn't fit BA

AlphaBeta
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 2306
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 4:33 pm
Location: Czechia

Re: Windows NT 3.5 setup error (VirtualBox)

Post by AlphaBeta »

ftosorciM wrote:
Wed Jan 12, 2022 5:15 pm
"Setup is unable to locate the hard drive partition prepared by the MS-DOS portion of Setup.
When you run the MS-DOS Windows NT Setup program, you must specify a temporary drive that is supported by Windows NT. See your System Guide for more information.
Setup cannot continue. Press F3 to exit."
Your boot floppies expect that WINNT.EXE has been run from MS-DOS to copy the system files before booting into the setup.
AlphaBeta, stop brainwashing me immediately!

Image

ftosorciM
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2021 7:56 pm

Re: Windows NT 3.5 setup error (VirtualBox)

Post by ftosorciM »

AlphaBeta wrote:
Wed Jan 12, 2022 8:12 pm
ftosorciM wrote:
Wed Jan 12, 2022 5:15 pm
"Setup is unable to locate the hard drive partition prepared by the MS-DOS portion of Setup.
When you run the MS-DOS Windows NT Setup program, you must specify a temporary drive that is supported by Windows NT. See your System Guide for more information.
Setup cannot continue. Press F3 to exit."
Your boot floppies expect that WINNT.EXE has been run from MS-DOS to copy the system files before booting into the setup.
I tried it using it with MS-DOS one with different virtual hard disc types rather than just SCSI, and it says that there is not a hard drive with enough space to install Windows NT (even though I did fdisk before running WINNT.EXE)

Fanta Shokata
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 216
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 12:48 pm
Location: Tricity, Poland

Re: Windows NT 3.5 setup error (VirtualBox)

Post by Fanta Shokata »

What MS-DOS boot disk did you use???
SHOKATA caused a General Protection Fault in module KRNL386.EXE at 6211:1566

ftosorciM
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2021 7:56 pm

Re: Windows NT 3.5 setup error (VirtualBox)

Post by ftosorciM »

Fanta Shokata wrote:
Wed Jan 12, 2022 9:27 pm
What MS-DOS boot disk did you use???
the 6.22 one

Fanta Shokata
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 216
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 12:48 pm
Location: Tricity, Poland

Re: Windows NT 3.5 setup error (VirtualBox)

Post by Fanta Shokata »

Did you format the hard drive before inserting NT 3.5 boot floppy???
SHOKATA caused a General Protection Fault in module KRNL386.EXE at 6211:1566

AlphaBeta
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 2306
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 4:33 pm
Location: Czechia

Re: Windows NT 3.5 setup error (VirtualBox)

Post by AlphaBeta »

ftosorciM wrote:
Wed Jan 12, 2022 9:21 pm
AlphaBeta wrote:
Wed Jan 12, 2022 8:12 pm
ftosorciM wrote:
Wed Jan 12, 2022 5:15 pm
"Setup is unable to locate the hard drive partition prepared by the MS-DOS portion of Setup.
When you run the MS-DOS Windows NT Setup program, you must specify a temporary drive that is supported by Windows NT. See your System Guide for more information.
Setup cannot continue. Press F3 to exit."
Your boot floppies expect that WINNT.EXE has been run from MS-DOS to copy the system files before booting into the setup.
I tried it using it with MS-DOS one with different virtual hard disc types rather than just SCSI, and it says that there is not a hard drive with enough space to install Windows NT (even though I did fdisk before running WINNT.EXE)
Format it.
AlphaBeta, stop brainwashing me immediately!

Image

Post Reply