Psychological reasons to care about betas

Discussion of beta and abandonware topics not fit for the other forums goes here.
TinaMeineKatze

Psychological reasons to care about betas

Post by TinaMeineKatze »

I'm studying philosophy and care deeply about psychology and psychological reasoning.

So, I asked myself (a 10-year-linux-only-user): "Why do I collect or even care about Windows-betas?". There's absolutely no practical reason for it since I do not use these OSs in everyday-life, and I barely learn about things that "normal" people care about (who cares about, for example, WinFS or Phodeo in Longhorn-builds? There's practically no use to that, since they do not appear on "real" computers).

But still, I do collect these versions and care about them.

My own result is that:

1. I'm interested in the way technology works out (I'm a software-developer and I like to read about how betas are designed to learn about my own software).
2. I'm a bit of a social outcast and, unconsciously, I may see especially cancelled Windows-versions (Longhorn, Neptune, ...) as something to relate to, something nobody cares for and thus understands, like I've felt as a teenager when I noticed I was not a "everyday normal guy". So, unconsciously, I believe my brain makes a connection: "If you honour the cancelled 'outcasts' of Windows, you'll indirectly honour yourself". It's like somebody caring for disabled people who get's a good feeling out of that because he knows nobody else will do that. And betas, as such, are, more or less, "disabled" (in the way that they're incomplete and do not work exactly as they should from a normal societies point of view).

So. What are your psychological reasons to care about Betas? Why not be just an expert on the final product that you're really going to use from day-to-day, but instead spent a lot of time and energy into products that are not (and never will be) finished and working correctly?

DiskingRound