Windows 95 CD-ROM Setup Boot Disk

Discuss Windows 95, 98 and ME.
Win95Fan

Windows 95 CD-ROM Setup Boot Disk

Post by Win95Fan »

According to some sources, the Windows 95 CD-ROM Setup Boot Disk contents varied from floppy to floppy.
Is that true!?
I'm your biggest fan, Windows 9x series of operating systems!

alcid34

Re: Windows 95 CD-ROM Setup Boot Disk

Post by alcid34 »

If I'm right, then yes. The Floppy had just the basics. The CD has extra stuff like Hover! for example
Pokemon Master Timothy, the greatest Pokemon Brainiac since Ash Ketchum, at your service. I'm also a beginner programmer and Windows Lover!

cantasan99

Post by cantasan99 »

No, he asks boot disk. Not installation media.

Turkish translator of Wine/Known as ctasan in ReactOS Forum
ReactOS Community Changelogs - Don't miss improvements!

GL1zdA

Post by GL1zdA »

Win95Fan wrote:According to some sources, the Windows 95 CD-ROM Setup Boot Disk contents varied from floppy to floppy.
Is that true!?
There were only OEM floppies - the OEM was supposed to create and deliver them, so every OEM would deliver it with CD-ROM drivers for their computer (if you buy a shrinkwrapped OEM Windows 95 you might find there floppy labels for the OEM boot disks). There was no Windows 95 Boxed CD edition - you could either buy a regular floppy edition or an Windows 95 Update CD edition (without boot floppies - you were supposed to have your CD-ROM configured).

os2fan2
Donator

Post by os2fan2 »

The OEM was supposed to put their own cdrom.sys on it, and modify the boot floppy accordingly. There's a prototype diskette in the W95 OAK, and i uploaded the five Win9x disks derived from the OAKs etc, but these were not accepted.

There is an additional .INF file on the diskette, read during setup, which copies the cdrom.sys file to the hard drive.

Win95Fan

Post by Win95Fan »