MS-DOS 6.22 Supplementary Disk

Discuss MS-DOS, Windows 1, 2 and 3.
alcid34

MS-DOS 6.22 Supplementary Disk

Post by alcid34 »

So I've downloaded MS-DOS 6.22 from your servers and I've noticed a fourth disk, which is a supplementary disk. What exactly does it do?
Pokemon Master Timothy, the greatest Pokemon Brainiac since Ash Ketchum, at your service. I'm also a beginner programmer and Windows Lover!

Overdoze

Re: MS-DOS 6.22 Supplementary Disk

Post by Overdoze »

It contains additional programs and stuff which are not installed by default, like the DOS shell.

Install it with "setup C:\<foldername>" and see for yourself.
All roads lead to Neptune™

KRNL386 - my site about retro computing | My site about Windows 1.0 | My blog | 86Box Manager | LeakDB - list of PC OS warez leaks

Stannieman

Post by Stannieman »

I have a set of original Dutch 6.22 floppies but don't have the 4th disc. I do have one with CD-ROM drivers but not the real Supplementary one. So I guess not everyone got it, or only if you really bought DOS (mine came with an OEM machine).

EDIT: The stuff on the CD-ROM floppy is all English, so I think it doesn't belong to the actual DOS set but is some extra thing from the OEM (HighScreen).
If ur a pirate, say arrr!

Battler
Donator

Post by Battler »

The MS-DOS 6.22 that came with my 486 back in 1996 was OEM but it had the Supplementary Disk. So I guess it largely depends on whether the OEM wanted to include it or not.
Main developer of the 86Box emulator.
Join the 86Box Discord server, a nice community for true enthusiasts and 86Box supports!

The anime channel is on the Ring of Lightning Discord server.

Check out our SoftHistory Forum for quality discussion about older software.

os2fan2
Donator

Post by os2fan2 »

If you really are keen on getting a NLS version of DOSSHELL for DOS 6, try going for MS-DOS 6.00. That's the last version that has it.