Microsoft KB Archive/248102

From BetaArchive Wiki
< Microsoft KB Archive
Revision as of 12:50, 21 July 2020 by X010 (talk | contribs) (Text replacement - """ to """)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Knowledge Base


Article ID: 248102

Article Last Modified on 3/2/2007



APPLIES TO

  • Microsoft Windows NT Server 4.0, Terminal Server Edition Service Pack 4
  • Microsoft Windows NT Server 4.0, Terminal Server Edition Service Pack 5
  • Microsoft Windows NT Server 4.0, Terminal Server Edition Service Pack 6
  • Microsoft Windows NT 4.0 Service Pack 3
  • Microsoft Windows NT 4.0 Service Pack 4
  • Microsoft Windows NT 4.0 Service Pack 5
  • Microsoft Windows NT 4.0 Service Pack 6
  • Microsoft Windows NT 4.0 Service Pack 6a
  • Microsoft Windows NT 4.0 Service Pack 4
  • Microsoft Windows NT 4.0 Service Pack 5
  • Microsoft Windows NT 4.0 Service Pack 6
  • Microsoft Windows NT 4.0 Service Pack 6a
  • Microsoft Windows NT Workstation 4.0 Developer Edition
  • Microsoft Windows NT Workstation 4.0 Developer Edition
  • Microsoft Windows NT Workstation 4.0
  • Microsoft Windows NT Workstation 4.0 Developer Edition
  • Microsoft Windows NT Workstation 4.0 Developer Edition



This article was previously published under Q248102

SYMPTOMS

After you apply Windows NT 4.0 Service Pack 3 or later to your computer running Windows NT 4.0 Server, Windows NT 4.0 Workstation, Windows NT 4.0 Server Enterprise Edition, or Windows NT 4.0, Terminal Server Edition, you may not be able to uninstall the service pack.

CAUSE

This issue can occur if the service pack has been applied more than once.

STATUS

This behavior is by design.

MORE INFORMATION

When you apply Service Pack 4 to a Windows NT 4.0 Service Pack 3-based computer, all of the files to be overwritten by Service Pack 4 are copied to an uninstall folder. At this point, the uninstall folder contains the files needed to uninstall Service Pack 4, and restore the computer to the state it was in before the application of the service pack. This uninstall folder includes Service Pack 3 files and any hotfixes that are replaced by Service Pack 4.

If Service Pack 4 is applied to the computer a second time, and the uninstall option is selected, the uninstall folder is overwritten with Service Pack 4 files. Because the computer already has Service Pack 4 applied, the files copied to the uninstall folder are Service Pack 4 files, and the ability to restore the computer to Service Pack 3 is lost.

To avoid this situation:

  • Make a full system backup before you apply any service pack.
  • If you must re-apply a service pack, do not create an uninstall folder.
  • Always read any Readme.txt files associated with the service pack, and make sure you understand the information completely before you apply the service pack to your computer.

A computer experiencing this issue has the option to uninstall the service pack in the Add/Remove Programs tool in Control Panel, and the uninstallation process will appear to work. However, the uninstallation process is restoring the same files that are currently installed on the computer. Even though the uninstallation appears to work, the blue operating system Loader screen that is displayed at system startup will indicate which service pack has been applied to your computer. In this case, the applied service pack number will not decrement after the uninstallation is performed.

Attempting to "manually" uninstall a service pack by manually copying files from a prior service pack to your computer is not recommended and is not supported by Microsoft. Attempting to manually uninstall a service pack can cause unpredictable system behavior, including the inability to start the computer. If a backup is not available and the files in the uninstall folder have been overwritten, it is not possible to revert to a previous service pack.

Keywords: kbenv kbui kbprb KB248102