Microsoft KB Archive/247900
Article ID: 247900
Article Last Modified on 11/1/2006
- Microsoft Windows NT Server 4.0 Standard Edition
- Microsoft Windows NT Workstation 4.0 Developer Edition
This article was previously published under Q247900
When you remove the Everyone group from the permissions of the Microsoft Windows NT 4.0 root folder on the local computer, you may not be able to log on after you restart the computer.
This behavior can occur because the Everyone group is a Windows NT 4.0 special group that is used to grant access to resources on the computer for both local and remote users. When you remove the Everyone group from the permissions of the %SystemRoot% folder, you cannot log on to the computer because you no longer have permissions to the %SystemRoot%\System32 folder.
To resolve this behavior, install a parallel copy of Windows NT 4.0 and then log on to the parallel installation. In Windows Explorer, add the Everyone group to the share permissions of the \Winnt folder of the original installation, and grant the Everyone group either Full Control or Change permissions.
For more information, refer to the following article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
137155 Users Without System32 Permissions Cannot Log On
Keywords: kbprb KB247900