Microsoft KB Archive/105824
WD6X: Word Prompts to Save When Closing Already-Saved File
The information in this article applies to:
- Microsoft Word for Windows, version 6.0
- Microsoft Word for the Macintosh, version 6.0
Word may prompt you to save a file when you close it, even if you just saved it or made no changes to the file.
When you close a file, Word prompts you to save if the file is any format other than Word 6.0. This happens because Word changes the document status to "dirty" (that is, flags the file as changed) whenever you save the file in a foreign file format. Word does this to remind you that you may lose any Word 6.0 formatting that is not supported by the foreign file format.
Additional query words: convert conversion second twice again
Keywords : winword macword word6
Issue type : kbprb
Last Reviewed: November 4, 2000