Microsoft KB Archive/101860
Article ID: 101860
Article Last Modified on 11/1/2006
- Microsoft Windows NT Advanced Server 3.1
- Microsoft Windows NT Workstation 3.1
This article was previously published under Q101860
If you delete a shared directory from File Manager or from a command prompt, the share (that is, the share name and permissions) is not deleted. Other members of your domain or workgroup can still view the share but cannot connect to it. After you exit and restart Windows NT, the share is deleted. If you want to remove the share immediately, you can manually delete the share from File Manager, or stop and restart the Server service from Control Panel.
NOTE: This behavior also occurs if you rename a shared directory.
Additional query words: prodnt
Keywords: kbnetwork KB101860