Registrations are now open. Join us today!
There is still a lot of work to do on the wiki yet! More information about editing can be found here.
Already have an account?

Microsoft KB Archive/923903

From BetaArchive Wiki
Knowledge Base


A new user is added to the "All People" list when you add the user to a user column in Windows SharePoint Services 3.0

Article ID: 923903

Article Last Modified on 5/14/2007



APPLIES TO

  • Microsoft Windows SharePoint Services 3.0



SYMPTOMS

Consider the following scenario:

  • You add a new user in Microsoft Windows SharePoint Services 3.0.
  • You grant the new user account Contribute permissions.
  • In the document library, you add a new user column from the Site Columns list. For example, you add the Assigned To column.
  • The new user who has Contribute permissions uploads a new document to the document library.
  • The user adds a domain user account in the Assigned To column.

In this scenario, when you click the All People list on the People and Groups page in Site Settings, the user who was added to the new user column is displayed.

CAUSE

By default, when you have only Contribute permissions and you add a new user to a user column, that user does not have permissions on the Windows SharePoint Services 3.0 site. This occurs even though the user is displayed in the All People list.

STATUS

Microsoft has confirmed that this is a problem in the Microsoft products that are listed in the "Applies to" section.


Additional query words: WSSv3

Keywords: kbtshoot kbexpertiseinter kbprb KB923903