Registrations are now open. Join us today!
There is still a lot of work to do on the wiki yet! More information about editing can be found here.
Already have an account?

Microsoft KB Archive/923895

From BetaArchive Wiki
Knowledge Base


Tasks do not appear under "My tasks" or under "All tasks" when you select the "Only their own" option on a Windows SharePoint Services 3.0 team site

Article ID: 923895

Article Last Modified on 5/14/2007



APPLIES TO

  • Microsoft Windows SharePoint Services 3.0



SYMPTOMS

Consider the following scenario. You create a new Microsoft Windows SharePoint Services 3.0 team site. Then, you create a new task on the Windows SharePoint Services 3.0 team site. You add a new user and then assign the user Contribute permissions. On the List Advanced Settings: Task page for the task, you click to select the Only their own check box under Read access or under Edit access.

In this scenario, when the user visits the Windows SharePoint Services 3.0 team site and then clicks My tasks or All tasks, the user cannot see the assigned task.

CAUSE

This behavior occurs if you select the Only their own option under the Read access permission or Edit access permission on the List Advanced Settings: Task page for the Windows SharePoint Services 3.0 team site. When this option is selected, the user can only edit and read items that the user created. If the user did not create the task, the task does not appear under My tasks or under All tasks.

RESOLUTION

To resolve this behavior, click to clear the Only their own check box under Read access or under Edit access on the List Advanced Settings: List page.

STATUS

This behavior is by design.


Additional query words: WSSv3

Keywords: kbexpertiseinter kbtshoot kbprb KB923895