Microsoft KB Archive/48540

From BetaArchive Wiki

Deleted Data Appears When File Is Opened as Text

PSS ID Number: Q48540 Article last modified on 03-07-1997

3.00 3.01 3.02 4.00 5.00

====================================================================== 3.00 3.01 3.02 4.00 5.00 MACINTOSH kbusage

The information in this article applies to:
- Microsoft Word for the Macintosh, versions 3.0 , 3.01, 3.02, 4.0 5.0

SUMMARY

If a Microsoft Word document is opened as a text file, it is possible for data from a previously saved version of the document to appear in the text file along with the current version’s data. This is a result of a Fast Save performed by Word when updating a previously saved document.

When using the Save command to save an existing document, Word by default performs what is known as a Fast Save. This option allows you to save a document much faster than it otherwise would be by appending the newly entered data to the document, but not completely removing data that has been deleted. Code is added to the document that prevents the deleted data from appearing when the document is opened under Word’s normal format; however, as a text file, this code is uninterpretable and allows the deleted data to appear.

To disable a Fast Save, from the File menu, choose Save As, deselect the Fast Save option, then click the Save button. Save this newly saved document as Text, which will contain the correct information.

KBCategory: kbusage KBSubCategory: Additional reference words: macword macword5 ====================================================================== Version : 3.00 3.01 3.02 4.00 5.00 ============================================================================= Copyright Microsoft Corporation 1997.