Microsoft KB Archive/39748

From BetaArchive Wiki

Word: Save Changes to Glossary Appears After No Changes Made

PSS ID Number: Q39748 Article last modified on 03-07-1997

====================================================================== 4.00 MACINTOSH kbusage

SUMMARY

If prompted to save the Standard Glossary when quitting Word 4.00 when only a glossary entry was inserted and no changes were made to the glossary, the Standard Glossary being used may be the Standard Glossary used by Word version 3.01 or 3.02.

In Word version 4.00 several time and date stamps were added to the Standard Glossary, so these changes are incorporated into the Standard Glossary the first time Word 4.00 uses the glossary.

To eliminate being prompted to save changes in this situation, do one of the following:

  1. Place Word versions 3.0x in a different folder than Word version 4.00, so that a different Standard Glossary will be formed and used for each version.
  2. Save the glossary at the prompt and don’t use it with Word versions 3.0x again.

KBCategory: kbusage KBSubCategory: kbautotext Additional reference words: macword macword5 ====================================================================== ============================================================================= Copyright Microsoft Corporation 1997.