Registrations are now open. Join us today!
There is still a lot of work to do on the wiki yet! More information about editing can be found here.
Already have an account?

Microsoft KB Archive/255689

From BetaArchive Wiki
Knowledge Base


XADM: Moved Server That Has Its Objects Replicated by the Active Directory Connector Doesn't Synchronize with Active Directory

Article ID: 255689

Article Last Modified on 2/21/2007



APPLIES TO

  • Microsoft Exchange 2000 Server Standard Edition



This article was previously published under Q255689


SYMPTOMS

After you use the Move Server Wizard to move a Microsoft Exchange Server 5.5 computer from one site to another within the same organization, the Active Directory Connector (ADC) no longer synchronizes objects in Active Directory.

CAUSE

This behavior can be caused by two possible situations:

  • The Connection Agreement in the ADC is set to auto-delete objects in Active Directory. -or-


  • The Connection Agreement is set to manual deletes, but the resulting *.ldf file had been manually imported into Active Directory.

The ADC uses the msExchADCGlobalNames attribute to match objects in the Exchange Server 5.5 directory and Active Directory. The Move Server Wizard operation always issues a delete command for the Exchange Server 5.5 objects. If this deletion is replicated to Active Directory, the object is flagged for permanent deletion (tombstoned). When the server is relocated in the new site, the ADC will not be able to synchronize the two objects because it determines that the corresponding Active Directory object has been deleted.

WORKAROUND

Before you run the Move Server Wizard, verify that the Configuration Agreement responsible for the directory information on the server has the deletion set to Keep the Windows deleted items and store the deletions list in the temporary .LDF file. This precaution is required only if you are using the Move Server Wizard to move a server from one site to another within the same organization. If you are removing the server from the organization, the auto-delete option is safe.

If you have already run the Move Server Wizard, follow these steps:

  1. On the Exchange Server 5.5 computer that was moved, export all objects that were being replicated by means of the ADC.
  2. Open the .csv file and remove all the ADC-Global-Names values for all objects.
  3. Import the .csv file.

The ADC will be able synchronize the objects after this.

MORE INFORMATION

When you run the Move Server Wizard, the wizard issues a delete call, which marks all objects for deletion. If the Configuration Agreement is set to auto-delete, the ADC passes the delete command on to Active Directory, which tombstones the objects for permanent deletion.

After the Move Server Wizard finishes and adds the server to the new site, the ADC checks the Exchange Server 5.5 directory for the msExchADCGlobalNames attribute. The msExchADCGlobalNames attribute will be the same as before the move because only the site name has changed. Then, the ADC checks Active Directory and finds that the objects being modified have been marked for deletion, and it therefore ignores the modify requests.

Keywords: kbprb KB255689