Microsoft KB Archive/246521
Article ID: 246521
Article Last Modified on 2/28/2007
- Microsoft Windows 2000 Server
- Microsoft Windows 2000 Advanced Server
- Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional Edition
This article was previously published under Q246521
When you boot Windows 2000 from the Windows 2000 CD-ROM or the four boot floppy disks and then press R to start the Repair process, you may see a message similar to the following warning message:
This behavior can occur if Microsoft Windows 3.1 or Microsoft Windows for Workgroups 3.11 is installed on your computer and the folder for that version of Windows is included in the PATH statement in the Autoexec.bat file.
If you press ENTER when the message listed in the "Symptoms" section of this article is displayed, Windows 2000 is installed in the folder that contains Windows 3.1 or Windows for Workgroups 3.11, overwriting the existing version of Windows.
If you press N to select another folder, you then have the option to start the Repair process or start Recovery Console.
If you do not want this message to occur, you can remove the folder that contains Windows 3.1 or Windows for Workgroups from the PATH statement in the Autoexec.bat file. However, to start Windows 3.1 or Windows for Workgroups, you must then manually change to the folder that contains this version of Windows and type win.
If you pressed ENTER when the message was displayed and Windows 2000 was installed and you still want to run Windows 3.1 or Windows for Workgroups, you must reinstall Windows 3.1 or Windows for Workgroups in its own folder.
Microsoft has confirmed that this is a problem in the Microsoft products that are listed at the beginning of this article.
Additional query words: command setup erd overwrite
Keywords: kbenv kbprb kbsetup KB246521