Microsoft KB Archive/173405

From BetaArchive Wiki

Article ID: 173405

Article Last Modified on 5/4/2001



APPLIES TO

  • Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 4.0 Standard Edition
  • Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 4.0 Standard Edition
  • Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 4.0a
  • Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 4.0a
  • Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 5.0 Standard Edition
  • Microsoft Visual SourceSafe 6.0 Standard Edition



This article was previously published under Q173405

SYMPTOMS

When attempting to check out an older version of a file from the command line you receive the following message:

<filename> is pinned to an older version.
Unpin this file or perform a rollback before attempting to check it out.

In versions 4.x, the message has different wording, but is also misleading:

You are using an old version of <filename>, and cannot change it.
Rollback to make that version the most recent if you need to change it.

CAUSE

Because checking out older versions creates a merge scenario (that is, the older version of a file is checked out and when it is eventually checked back in), it must merge with the most current version. Before this can happen, Visual SourceSafe must assume multiple checkouts is enabled. If it isn't, you receive the message.

RESOLUTION

You must enable the option to "Allow multiple checkouts" from the Visual SourceSafe Admin utility before you try to check out older file versions. To do this, implement the following steps:

  1. From the Tools menu, select Options.
  2. Select the "Allow multiple checkouts" check box.
  3. Click OK.


STATUS

Microsoft has confirmed this to be a problem in the Microsoft products listed at the beginning of this article.

MORE INFORMATION

Steps to Reproduce Behavior

  1. Open the Admin program and make sure "Allow multiple checkouts" check box is not selected.
  2. From the command line type:

    ss checkout $/<project name>/<filename> -v1


Keywords: kberrmsg kbprb KB173405