Registrations are now open. Join us today!
There is still a lot of work to do on the wiki yet! More information about editing can be found here.
Already have an account?

Microsoft KB Archive/173224

From BetaArchive Wiki

Article ID: 173224

Article Last Modified on 1/20/2007



APPLIES TO

  • Microsoft Word 97 Standard Edition



This article was previously published under Q173224

IMPORTANT: This article contains information about editing the registry. Before you edit the registry, you should first make a backup copy of the registry files (System.dat and User.dat). Both are hidden files in the Windows folder.

SUMMARY

When you work with HTML documents, you will receive a prompt to either save your document when changes have been made since the document was last saved, or remind you to refresh your picture after you edit it in an image editor.

This article describes the following:

  • The action required to show the save or refresh prompt.
  • The message text of each of the prompts.
  • How to disable (turn off) each of the prompts.
  • How to re-enable (turn back on) each of the prompts.


MORE INFORMATION

NOTE: This information applies only to the AutoUpdate version of the Web Authoring Tools. In the version of the Web Authoring Tools that shipped with Word 97, the View and Exit HTML Source and Web Page Preview prompts cannot be disabled and the prompt for editing pictures does not exist because pictures cannot be edited.

Actions and Resulting Messages

The following lists the action required to show the prompt along with the text of the prompt:

  • On the View menu, you click HTML Source.

    Do you want to save the changes you made to <filename.html> before viewing HTML source?

  • While in HTML Source view, on the View menu, you click Exit HTML Source.

    Do you want to save the changes you made to <filename.html> before exiting from HTML source view?

  • On the File menu, you click Web Page Preview.

    Do you want to save the changes you made to <filename.html> before previewing in a Web browser?

  • You double-click to edit a Picture.

    Click OK to edit this picture in your image editor.

    Changes you make to this picture will not immediately appear in your Word document. After closing your image editor, right-click the picture in Word and choose "Refresh Picture".

    NOTE: You will not receive this prompt until you have saved your HTML document after inserting the picture. If you edit the picture before saving your HTML document, you will not receive this prompt.

How to Disable (Turn Off) Each Prompt

With each prompt, you have the option to clear a check box that that will disable (turn off) the prompt.

  • When viewing or exiting HTML Source:

    Always ask before saving changes when viewing HTML source or exiting from HTML source view.

    NOTE: When you turn off this prompt, your changes will be saved automatically and you will not be prompted to save the changes.
  • When choosing Web Page Preview:

    Always ask before saving changes.

    NOTE: When you turn off this prompt, your changes will be saved automatically and you will not be prompted to save the changes.
  • When editing pictures:

    Always display this reminder when I edit pictures on Web Pages.

    NOTE: When you turn off this reminder, your changes will not automatically be reflected in the picture in your HTML document. You will still need to Refresh your picture after you exit from your image editor. When you make changes to your picture in your image editor, your image editor will still prompt to save the changes you made.

How to Re-Enable (Turn On) Each Prompt

For information about how to edit the registry, see the Changing Keys And Values online Help topic in Registry Editor (Regedit.exe). Note that you should make a backup copy of the registry files (System.dat and User.dat) before you edit the registry.

WARNING: Using Registry Editor incorrectly can cause serious problems that may require you to reinstall Windows 95. Microsoft cannot guarantee that problems resulting from the incorrect use of Registry Editor can be solved. Use Registry Editor at your own risk.

There is no "built-in" feature to re-enable each of the listed prompts, you must edit the Registry and delete the following String Values.

  • For viewing or exiting HTML Source:

          HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\8.0\Word\HTML\ 
          QuietHTMLSourceSave
                        
  • For Web Page Preview:

          HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\8.0\Word\HTML\ 
          QuietWebPagePreview
                        
  • For editing pictures:

          HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\8.0\Word\HTML\ 
          QuietEditPicture
                        

For additional information, please see the following articles in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:

172747 WD97: What's New in the Web Page Authoring Tools Update

163299 WD97: Web Page Authoring Tools AutoUpdate



Additional query words: 8.0 8.00

Keywords: kbhowto kbinfo KB173224