Microsoft KB Archive/172225
Article ID: 172225
Article Last Modified on 10/27/2006
- Microsoft Systems Management Server 1.0 Standard Edition
- Microsoft Systems Management Server 1.1 Standard Edition
- Microsoft Systems Management Server 1.2 Standard Edition
This article was previously published under Q172225
If a user has restricted rights (set through the Systems Management Server Security Manager) to view only Personal Computer Properties, the user is still able to see a Delete Special menu option. The user is also able to select the Delete Special command; however, nothing is deleted from the database.
Microsoft has confirmed this to be a problem in Systems Management Server versions 1.0, 1.1, and 1.2. We are researching this problem and will post new information here in the Microsoft Knowledge Base as it becomes available.
When the user first enters the Systems Management Server Administrator program, he or she will see the Delete Special menu option under the Edit menu. The user can select the option, but no systems are removed from the database. After the user has viewed the personal properties of a computer, the Delete Special menu option is no longer available on the Edit menu.
Keywords: kbbug kbpending kbsmsadmin kbusage KB172225