Registrations are now open. Join us today!
There is still a lot of work to do on the wiki yet! More information about editing can be found here.
Already have an account?

Microsoft KB Archive/170916

From BetaArchive Wiki

Article ID: 170916

Article Last Modified on 1/20/2007



APPLIES TO

  • Microsoft Outlook 97 Standard Edition



This article was previously published under Q170916


SUMMARY

The default AutoArchive setting for the Deleted Items folder in Outlook is set to permanently delete old items.

MORE INFORMATION

The AutoArchive feature in Outlook is the automatic, periodic deletion or moving of items to another folder based on the amount of time the items have been in the folder. AutoArchive can be set for most folders and the various folders created by Outlook have certain settings applied to them by default.

The default setting for the Deleted Items folder is to permanently delete old items instead of moving them to another folder. Some users prefer to archive deleted items the same way they archive other folders, and so need to change the default setting.

To Change the AutoArchive Setting of a Folder

To view or change the AutoArchive setting for a folder in Outlook, use the following steps:

  1. In Outlook, right-click the folder you want to view or change the AutoArchive setting for.
  2. Click Properties and click the AutoArchive tab.
  3. When finished viewing or changing the settings, click OK.

To Change the AutoArchive Setting for All Folders

To view or change the general AutoArchive settings, use the following steps:

  1. On the Tools menu, click Options.
  2. Click the AutoArchive tab.
  3. When finished viewing or changing the settings, click OK.


Keywords: KB170916