Registrations are now open. Join us today!
There is still a lot of work to do on the wiki yet! More information about editing can be found here.
Already have an account?

Microsoft KB Archive/170681

From BetaArchive Wiki
Knowledge Base


XCLN: Deleting Personal Folder Service Causes Loss of Messages

Article ID: 170681

Article Last Modified on 2/27/2007



APPLIES TO

  • Microsoft Outlook 97 Standard Edition
  • Microsoft Exchange Client 5.5
  • Microsoft Exchange Client 5.0
  • Microsoft Exchange Client 4.0
  • Microsoft Exchange Client 5.0



This article was previously published under Q170681


SYMPTOMS

If message delivery is set to a personal folder file (PST) and you later delete that personal folder from the Exchange profile during a mail download from the Exchange Server Mailbox to the PST, and you select Yes when the following warning message appears

This information service contains the default message store for
the profile. Are you sure you want to remove this information service
from the profile.


Mail stored in the personal folder may be permanently lost instead of being sent to the Deleted Items folder.

CAUSE

Because the default message store for the profile is deleted, default delivery is changed to "none" during the mail transfer process.

RESOLUTION

Change the delivery location in the Exchange profile to the Mailbox or another personal folder before deleting the personal folder where mail delivery is set.



Additional query words: OUTLOOK97-WIN95 OUTLOOK97-WINNT 8.0, 8.01, 8.02, 8.03, 8.04

Keywords: kbbug KB170681