Microsoft KB Archive/169246
Article ID: 169246
Article Last Modified on 8/17/2005
- Microsoft Publisher 97 Standard Edition
This article was previously published under Q169246
If you delete a border by clicking the Delete button on the BorderArt tab in the Borders dialog box, the border will be deleted from the current publication and it will no longer be available to use in future publications.
In addition, you cannot rerun the Publisher Setup program to reinstall the border pattern that you deleted.
The borders used by Publisher are stored in .bdr files in the Publisher\Borders folder. Publisher ships with 162 patterns, which are stored in fifteen .bdr files. If you delete a border in the Borders dialog box, Publisher modifies the .bdr file that contains that pattern. Publisher does not delete the file. In addition, when you rerun Publisher setup and click Reinstall, Publisher only replaces missing files; it does not reinstall modified files.
To restore deleted borders, do the following:
- Determine which .bdr file has been modified by checking the dates of all the .bdr files in the Publisher\Borders folder.
- Delete or rename the file you identified in step 1.
- Copy the original .bdr file from the Borders folder on the Publisher compact disk to the Publisher\Borders folder on your hard disk.
When you click the Delete button on the BorderArt tab in the Borders dialog box, to delete the selected border in the Borders list, you receive the following message:
If you click OK, the selected border will no longer be available in any Publisher file.
If you rerun Publisher Setup in maintenance mode and click Reinstall, the Setup program will not restore the deleted border.
Additional query words: 97 pub97 pub4 4.0 border art borderart bdr
Keywords: kbprb kbusage KB169246