Registrations are now open. Join us today!
There is still a lot of work to do on the wiki yet! More information about editing can be found here.
Already have an account?

Microsoft KB Archive/106744

From BetaArchive Wiki
Knowledge Base


Deleting Connection Closes Files on Open Share

Article ID: 106744

Article Last Modified on 10/31/2006



APPLIES TO

  • Microsoft Windows NT Advanced Server 3.1
  • Microsoft Windows NT Workstation 3.1
  • Microsoft Windows NT Advanced Server 3.1



This article was previously published under Q106744

SYMPTOMS

If you delete a connection to a network share that you have open files on from a different connection, the files are closed. For example, if you have two connections, E and F to a network share and a file open on F, F:\TEST.TXT, when you close E, F:\TEST.TXT is closed as well. This can result in lost data or other problems.

STATUS

Microsoft has confirmed this to be a problem in Windows NT and Windows NT Advanced Server version 3.1. This problem was corrected in the latest U.S. Service Pack for Windows NT and Windows NT Advanced Server version 3.1. For information on obtaining the Service Pack, query on the following word in the Microsoft Knowledge Base (without the spaces):

S E R V P A C K



Additional query words: prodnt

Keywords: KB106744