Microsoft KB Archive/106070
Macro Window Closes While the Macro Is Running
The information in this article applies to:
- Microsoft Word for Windows, versions 6.0, 6.0a, 6.0c
- Microsoft Word for Windows, version 7.0
In Word for Windows, while a macro is running in a macro editing window, you can close that macro editing window. If you have not saved the macro, Word prompts you to save it. If the macro is unsaved and contains the "FileClose 2" statement, Word closes the macro window without saving the macro, and the macro is lost.
This is a design feature of Word 6.0 and 7.0. To avoid losing a macro that contains the "FileClose 2" statement, be sure to save your macro before you run it. This functionality is different from that of Word 1.x or 2.x, in which a running macro cannot close its own macro editing window.
WordBasic Help, "FileClose" topic
Kbcategory: kbusage kbmacro
Additional query words: 6.0 change lose saved lost gone word6 7.0 word95 word7 winword disappears disappeared
Issue type :
Last Reviewed: November 4, 2000