Registrations are now open. Join us today!
There is still a lot of work to do on the wiki yet! More information about editing can be found here.
Already have an account?

Microsoft KB Archive/105134

From BetaArchive Wiki
Knowledge Base


AutoDisconnect Default Incorrect in Online Help

Article ID: 105134

Article Last Modified on 10/31/2006



APPLIES TO

  • Microsoft Windows NT Advanced Server 3.1
  • Microsoft Windows NT Workstation 3.1
  • Microsoft Windows NT Advanced Server 3.1



This article was previously published under Q105134

SUMMARY

The online Help file NTCMDS.HLP included with Windows NT 3.1 contains incorrect information regarding NET CONFIG SERVER /AUTODISCONNECT:TIME:

NET CONFIG SERVER /AUTODISCONNECT:TIME sets the maximum number of minutes a user's session can be inactive before it is disconnected. You can specify -1 to never disconnect. The range is -1-65535 minutes; the default is -1.


The default value for AutoDisconnect is 15, not -1 as stated in Help.

WARNING: When you run NET CONFIG SERVER (or NET CONFIG SRV), server related parameters that are normally autoconfigured each time you boot (for example, maxworkitems)are permanently set in the registry to whatever values Windows NT is currently using. These parameters will continue to override the defaults until you change them in the registry. You cannot change the values by running Control Panel, choosing Server, and then choosing Configure. Consequently, if you add or remove memory, or change the server size setting (minimize/balance/maximize), you will not get the benefit of server autoconfiguration.


Additional query words: prodnt disc time-out

Keywords: kbother KB105134