Registrations are now open. Join us today!
There is still a lot of work to do on the wiki yet! More information about editing can be found here.
Already have an account?

Microsoft KB Archive/104161

From BetaArchive Wiki
Knowledge Base


PSS ID Number: 104161

Article Last Modified on 10/29/2003



The information in this article applies to:

  • Microsoft Windows NT Server 3.1
  • Microsoft Windows NT Workstation 3.1



This article was previously published under Q104161


SYMPTOMS

While you are using Microsoft Windows NT, if you move a User from one User Group to another User Group, this may cause the User's previous persistent connections to be lost. Once in the new User Group, any network connection made may not be persistent.

For example: A user who starts out in the Administrators group and is then moved to the Power Users group loses persistent connection functionality. The connections while in the Power Users group will never be persistent.

STATUS

Microsoft has confirmed this to be a problem in Windows NT version 3.1 and Windows NT Advanced Server version 3.1. We are researching this problem and will post new information here in the Microsoft Knowledge Base as it becomes available.

MORE INFORMATION

Steps to Reproduce Problem

  1. Logon to a Windows NT computer as an Administrator.
  2. In the User Manager, create a new user "Test" and add it to the Administrators group. Set any desired password.
  3. Log off and then log on as "Test."
  4. In File Manager, verify that Reconnect At Logon is selected in the Connect Network Drive dialog box.
  5. From the Disk menu, choose Connect Network Drive to connect drive X to \\SERVER1\SHARE (whatever server is available).
  6. Log off and then log on again as "Test." Drive X will be reconnected to \\SERVER1\SHARE.
  7. Log off, then log on as an Administrator.
  8. In the User Manager, remove the "Test" user from the Administrators group and add "Test" to the Power Users group.
  9. Log off and then log on as "Test." Drive X will not be reconnected to \\SERVER1\SHARE.
  10. In File Manager, verify that Reconnect At Logon is STILL selected, and connect drive Y to \\SERVER2\SHARE.
  11. Log off and then log on as "Test" again. Neither drive X nor drive Y is reconnected even though in File Manager, Reconnect At Logon is still selected.


In the Registry, HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Network\Persistent Connections lists both \\SERVER1\SHARE and \\SERVER2\SHARE, and Save Connections=YES, but HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Network\P and Q are unavailable.

  1. Log off and then log on as an Administrator.
  2. Move "Test" out of the Power Users group and back into the Administrators group.
  3. Log off and then log on as "Test". X: will be reconnected. Subsequent network connections while "Test" is an Administrator will be persistent if Connect At Logon is selected.



Additional query words: prodnt

Keywords: kbnetwork KB104161
Technology: kbWinNT310Search kbWinNTS310 kbWinNTS310search kbWinNTsearch kbWinNTSsearch kbWinNTW310 kbWinNTW310Search kbWinNTWsearch