Registrations are now open. Join us today!
There is still a lot of work to do on the wiki yet! More information about editing can be found here.
Already have an account?

Microsoft KB Archive/104126

From BetaArchive Wiki

Windows 3.1 Migration Occurs Only During Initial Logon

Q104126



The information in this article applies to:


  • Microsoft Windows NT Server version 3.1
  • Microsoft Windows NT Workstation version 3.1
  • Microsoft Windows NT Advanced Server, version 3.1





SYMPTOM

Page 316 of the Microsoft Windows NT System Guide states that Windows NT will read the WIN.INI, SYSTEM.INI, and REG.DAT files each time Windows NT is booted. This is a documentation error. By default, Windows NT only performs migration of program groups and settings once for each user. After that, Windows NT does not make modifications to the registry for migration purposes. Also, changes made in subsequent Windows 3.1 sessions are not migrated into Windows NT.



RESOLUTION

See article Q102884 for more information on the migration of Windows 3.1 program groups and settings.

To perform a migration after the initial logon, use the following procedure:

  1. Log onto an administrative account.
  2. Run Windows Setup from the Main group.
  3. From the Options menu, choose Delete User Profiles
  4. Highlight the desired user and choose Delete.



STATUS

Microsoft has confirmed this to be a problem in Windows NT version 3.1 and Windows NT Advanced Server version 3.1. We are researching this problem and will post new information here in the Microsoft Knowledge Base as it becomes available.

Additional query words: prodnt migrate registry

Keywords : kbsetup
Issue type :
Technology : kbWinNTsearch kbWinNTWsearch kbWinNTW310 kbWinNTSsearch kbWinNTS310 kbWinNTAdvSerSearch kbWinNTAdvServ310 kbWinNTS310xsearch kbWinNT310xSearch kbWinNTW310Search


Last Reviewed: October 27, 2000
© 2001 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved. Terms of Use.