Registrations are now open. Join us today!
There is still a lot of work to do on the wiki yet! More information about editing can be found here.
Already have an account?

Microsoft KB Archive/103033

From BetaArchive Wiki
Knowledge Base


Network Trash Folder While Running SFM

Article ID: 103033

Article Last Modified on 10/31/2006



APPLIES TO

  • Microsoft Windows NT Advanced Server 3.1
  • Microsoft Windows NT Server 4.0 Standard Edition



This article was previously published under Q103033

When a Windows NT Advanced Server running Services for Macintosh (SFM) creates a Macintosh volume, SFM automatically creates a Network Trash Folder directory in the new Macintosh volume. This Network Trash Folder is required in SFM, and should not be removed.

The Network Trash Folder is used to temporarily store files in a Macintosh volume that a user has thrown in the Trash. When the user empties the Trash, the file will actually be deleted.

The Network Trash Folder cannot be removed while SFM is running.

The default Macintosh permissions may not be changed. Any changes you attempt will not take affect as long as SFM is running.

If SFM is stopped, the Network Trash Folder will be removed. It will be replaced when you reboot your computer. (SFM may be shut off in the Services Control Panel by stopping the File Server For Macintosh service.)

NOTE: There is no Network Trash Folder in the MS UAM Volume, which is created by default when SFM is installed on an NTFS volume.


Additional query words: prodnt

Keywords: kbinterop KB103033