Microsoft KB Archive/102933
Article ID: 102933
Article Last Modified on 10/30/2006
- Microsoft Mail for Appletalk Networks 3.0
- Microsoft Mail for Appletalk Networks 3.1
This article was previously published under Q102933
In versions 3.0 and 3.1 of Microsoft Mail for AppleTalk Networks, groups defined by the network manager may contain users that were recently removed from the mail system. (To reveal a user who was removed, select the specific group from the addressing screen and click Details.)
Mail messages addressed to the group will be correctly delivered to any valid user accounts. At the same time, the message will be ignored for the user whose account was removed. However, no error message is returned to the sender of the message.
In addition, if the same user name is added to the mail system again, that user name will propagate to other servers and will be displayed in the All List. At the same time, the "old" account information is still displayed in the group details. This may confuse some users because the listing in the group details does not refer to the newly created user; rather, it refers incorrectly to the previously removed user.
These symptoms occur if a user is added to a group and is then removed from the group server's All List before the group's changes propagate to other servers. The user name will be retained in the group definition even though the user has been deleted.
Specifically, if the group definition propagates to the All List before the request to delete the user, the user will correctly be removed from the All List, and thus the group as well. However, if the user is removed from the All list before the new (or modified) group definition arrives, or if the user is deleted before he or she is added to the group server's All List, the Mail server does not check the members of the groups to make sure they still exist. Therefore, it is possible to encounter a case where a group contains members who no longer exist as local users on any server.
To resolve this problem, the network manager must modify any groups the old user appears in. This modification must take place on each server where the group was originally defined. Once the old user name definition is removed, the group details will display correctly. Additionally, the network manager can then add the new user definition.
Additional query words: 3.00 3.10