Registrations are now open. Join us today!
There is still a lot of work to do on the wiki yet! More information about editing can be found here.
Already have an account?

Microsoft KB Archive/102380

From BetaArchive Wiki
Knowledge Base


Tools Return to Default Mode After Resetting

Article ID: 102380

Article Last Modified on 11/1/2006



APPLIES TO

  • Microsoft Windows NT Advanced Server 3.1
  • Microsoft Windows NT Workstation 3.1
  • Microsoft Windows NT Advanced Server 3.1



This article was previously published under Q102380

SYMPTOMS

A user of Event Viewer, User Manager, or Server Manager may have sufficient access privileges to use these tools and to set them to low speed network mode or another mode, but the tool returns to its default mode the next time it is used.

CAUSE

A cache is kept to determine if Event Viewer, User Manager or Server Manager should initially come up in low speed network (also called Remote Access Services, or RAS) mode. The cache is kept per computer (versus per user) in the LOCAL_MACHINE\... \Shared Parameters area of the registry that, by default, can be changed only by administrators.

Administrators and Power Users (on the local computer) have sufficient access to use these keys, but there is no necessary connection between a user's permissions on the local computer and on the target computer.

WORKAROUND

Reset the mode of the tool and continue.

This situation does not arise very often because most users who administer nodes on the network also have Administrator access to their own computer.


Additional query words: prodnt

Keywords: KB102380