Windows 10X in QEMU

Discuss Windows Vista/Server 2008 to Windows 10.
WindowsBetaX1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2021 5:13 am

Windows 10X in QEMU

Post by WindowsBetaX1 »

Hi, This is my first topic in betaarchive.com :D , can you run windows 10x vhdx in QEMU?

ActivateYourTech
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2021 1:43 pm

Re: Windows 10X in QEMU

Post by ActivateYourTech »

If you are on Windows 10, you can enable Hyper-V and use that (I think qemu might be better on Linux) I am not sure though

WindowsBetaX1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2021 5:13 am

Re: Windows 10X in QEMU

Post by WindowsBetaX1 »

Ok, Thanks than!

WinXPFan
User avatar
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2021 3:11 pm

Re: Windows 10X in QEMU

Post by WinXPFan »

I think you can convert it to VHD, after to VMDK and use that VMDK in VMware.
I love Windows XP!
Windows XP Lives forever! :beta: :beta: :D :D

WindowsBetaX1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2021 5:13 am

Re: Windows 10X in QEMU

Post by WindowsBetaX1 »

WinXPFan wrote:
Sat Nov 20, 2021 7:44 am
I think you can convert it to VHD, after to VMDK and use that VMDK in VMware.
I tried but it just shows no operating system not found. Last time I think or not got it work because it shows windows 7 enterprise

AlphaBeta
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 2296
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 4:33 pm
Location: Czechia

Re: Windows 10X in QEMU

Post by AlphaBeta »

Windows 10X disk images are not portable between different hardware. So the answer to your question is a big no.
AlphaBeta, stop brainwashing me immediately!

Image

WindowsBetaX1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2021 5:13 am

Re: Windows 10X in QEMU

Post by WindowsBetaX1 »

AlphaBeta wrote:
Sat Nov 20, 2021 6:58 pm
Windows 10X disk images are not portable between different hardware. So the answer to your question is a big no.
Yeah, but I will try do it

WinXPFan
User avatar
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2021 3:11 pm

Re: Windows 10X in QEMU

Post by WinXPFan »

But you can flash the VHDX to an SSD, and then dump it as a VMDK?
I love Windows XP!
Windows XP Lives forever! :beta: :beta: :D :D

WindowsBetaX1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2021 5:13 am

Re: Windows 10X in QEMU

Post by WindowsBetaX1 »

WinXPFan wrote:
Mon Nov 22, 2021 5:49 am
But you can flash the VHDX to an SSD, and then dump it as a VMDK?
Not really sure

WinXPFan
User avatar
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2021 3:11 pm

Re: Windows 10X in QEMU

Post by WinXPFan »

WindowsBetaX1 wrote:
Sat Nov 20, 2021 11:30 am
WinXPFan wrote:
Sat Nov 20, 2021 7:44 am
I think you can convert it to VHD, after to VMDK and use that VMDK in VMware.
I tried but it just shows no operating system not found. Last time I think or not got it work because it shows windows 7 enterprise
SET THE FIRMWARE TO UEFI! And RAM must be minimum 2GB!
I love Windows XP!
Windows XP Lives forever! :beta: :beta: :D :D

WindowsBetaX1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2021 5:13 am

Re: Windows 10X in QEMU

Post by WindowsBetaX1 »

WinXPFan wrote:
Mon Nov 22, 2021 6:14 pm
WindowsBetaX1 wrote:
Sat Nov 20, 2021 11:30 am
WinXPFan wrote:
Sat Nov 20, 2021 7:44 am
I think you can convert it to VHD, after to VMDK and use that VMDK in VMware.
I tried but it just shows no operating system not found. Last time I think or not got it work because it shows windows 7 enterprise
SET THE FIRMWARE TO UEFI! And RAM must be minimum 2GB!
What software need to use? Starwind converter? or other?

WindowsBetaX1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2021 5:13 am

Re: Windows 10X in QEMU

Post by WindowsBetaX1 »

WinXPFan wrote:
Mon Nov 22, 2021 6:14 pm
WindowsBetaX1 wrote:
Sat Nov 20, 2021 11:30 am
WinXPFan wrote:
Sat Nov 20, 2021 7:44 am
I think you can convert it to VHD, after to VMDK and use that VMDK in VMware.
I tried but it just shows no operating system not found. Last time I think or not got it work because it shows windows 7 enterprise
SET THE FIRMWARE TO UEFI! And RAM must be minimum 2GB!
https://www.betaarchive.com/imageupload ... .67719.png

Not really working :(

Meow
Posts: 332
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 5:28 am
Location: Earth

Re: Windows 10X in QEMU

Post by Meow »

WindowsBetaX1 wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 2:16 am
WinXPFan wrote:
Mon Nov 22, 2021 6:14 pm
WindowsBetaX1 wrote:
Sat Nov 20, 2021 11:30 am
WinXPFan wrote:
Sat Nov 20, 2021 7:44 am
I think you can convert it to VHD, after to VMDK and use that VMDK in VMware.
I tried but it just shows no operating system not found. Last time I think or not got it work because it shows windows 7 enterprise
SET THE FIRMWARE TO UEFI! And RAM must be minimum 2GB!
https://www.betaarchive.com/imageupload ... .67719.png

Not really working :(
please read the error
and just hit no

You created a Hyper-V VM in VMWare. ActivateYourTech meant to enable Hyper-V in the optional features dialog. This only works if you have Windows 11 Pro/Enterprise or higher.
Windows 10 should've been named Windows X

WindowsBetaX1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2021 5:13 am

Re: Windows 10X in QEMU

Post by WindowsBetaX1 »

Meow wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 3:39 am
WindowsBetaX1 wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 2:16 am
WinXPFan wrote:
Mon Nov 22, 2021 6:14 pm
WindowsBetaX1 wrote:
Sat Nov 20, 2021 11:30 am
WinXPFan wrote:
Sat Nov 20, 2021 7:44 am
I think you can convert it to VHD, after to VMDK and use that VMDK in VMware.
I tried but it just shows no operating system not found. Last time I think or not got it work because it shows windows 7 enterprise
SET THE FIRMWARE TO UEFI! And RAM must be minimum 2GB!
https://www.betaarchive.com/imageupload ... .67719.png

Not really working :(
please read the error
and just hit no

You created a Hyper-V VM in VMWare. ActivateYourTech meant to enable Hyper-V in the optional features dialog. This only works if you have Windows 11 Pro/Enterprise or higher.
Can this works with windows 10x64 Vm?
edit: I'm using windows 11 pro

Meow
Posts: 332
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 5:28 am
Location: Earth

Re: Windows 10X in QEMU

Post by Meow »

WindowsBetaX1 wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 3:49 am
Meow wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 3:39 am
WindowsBetaX1 wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 2:16 am
WinXPFan wrote:
Mon Nov 22, 2021 6:14 pm
WindowsBetaX1 wrote:
Sat Nov 20, 2021 11:30 am


I tried but it just shows no operating system not found. Last time I think or not got it work because it shows windows 7 enterprise
SET THE FIRMWARE TO UEFI! And RAM must be minimum 2GB!
https://www.betaarchive.com/imageupload ... .67719.png

Not really working :(
please read the error
and just hit no

You created a Hyper-V VM in VMWare. ActivateYourTech meant to enable Hyper-V in the optional features dialog. This only works if you have Windows 11 Pro/Enterprise or higher.
Can this works with windows 10x64 Vm?
edit: I'm using windows 11 pro
Hyper-V is supported on Windows 11 Pro. Probably best to use that since Windows 10X images are not able to be moved from one computer to another (this has already been pointed out)
Windows 10 should've been named Windows X

WindowsBetaX1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2021 5:13 am

Re: Windows 10X in QEMU

Post by WindowsBetaX1 »

Meow wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 5:21 am
WindowsBetaX1 wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 3:49 am
Meow wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 3:39 am
WindowsBetaX1 wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 2:16 am
WinXPFan wrote:
Mon Nov 22, 2021 6:14 pm

SET THE FIRMWARE TO UEFI! And RAM must be minimum 2GB!
https://www.betaarchive.com/imageupload ... .67719.png

Not really working :(
please read the error
and just hit no

You created a Hyper-V VM in VMWare. ActivateYourTech meant to enable Hyper-V in the optional features dialog. This only works if you have Windows 11 Pro/Enterprise or higher.
Can this works with windows 10x64 Vm?
edit: I'm using windows 11 pro
Hyper-V is supported on Windows 11 Pro. Probably best to use that since Windows 10X images are not able to be moved from one computer to another (this has already been pointed out)
I got this from my usb. So I moved the images.

WindowsBetaX1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2021 5:13 am

Re: Windows 10X in QEMU

Post by WindowsBetaX1 »

Meow wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 3:39 am
WindowsBetaX1 wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 2:16 am
WinXPFan wrote:
Mon Nov 22, 2021 6:14 pm
WindowsBetaX1 wrote:
Sat Nov 20, 2021 11:30 am
WinXPFan wrote:
Sat Nov 20, 2021 7:44 am
I think you can convert it to VHD, after to VMDK and use that VMDK in VMware.
I tried but it just shows no operating system not found. Last time I think or not got it work because it shows windows 7 enterprise
SET THE FIRMWARE TO UEFI! And RAM must be minimum 2GB!
https://www.betaarchive.com/imageupload ... .67719.png

Not really working :(
please read the error
and just hit no

You created a Hyper-V VM in VMWare. ActivateYourTech meant to enable Hyper-V in the optional features dialog. This only works if you have Windows 11 Pro/Enterprise or higher.
This just make VMware ultra slow!

Meow
Posts: 332
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 5:28 am
Location: Earth

Re: Windows 10X in QEMU

Post by Meow »

WindowsBetaX1 wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 8:01 am
Meow wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 5:21 am
WindowsBetaX1 wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 3:49 am
Meow wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 3:39 am
WindowsBetaX1 wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 2:16 am


https://www.betaarchive.com/imageupload ... .67719.png

Not really working :(
please read the error
and just hit no

You created a Hyper-V VM in VMWare. ActivateYourTech meant to enable Hyper-V in the optional features dialog. This only works if you have Windows 11 Pro/Enterprise or higher.
Can this works with windows 10x64 Vm?
edit: I'm using windows 11 pro
Hyper-V is supported on Windows 11 Pro. Probably best to use that since Windows 10X images are not able to be moved from one computer to another (this has already been pointed out)
I got this from my usb. So I moved the images.
As in “install on another computer using the same image”
Windows 10 should've been named Windows X

Meow
Posts: 332
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 5:28 am
Location: Earth

Re: Windows 10X in QEMU

Post by Meow »

WindowsBetaX1 wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 8:41 am
Meow wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 3:39 am
WindowsBetaX1 wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 2:16 am
WinXPFan wrote:
Mon Nov 22, 2021 6:14 pm
WindowsBetaX1 wrote:
Sat Nov 20, 2021 11:30 am


I tried but it just shows no operating system not found. Last time I think or not got it work because it shows windows 7 enterprise
SET THE FIRMWARE TO UEFI! And RAM must be minimum 2GB!
https://www.betaarchive.com/imageupload ... .67719.png

Not really working :(
please read the error
and just hit no

You created a Hyper-V VM in VMWare. ActivateYourTech meant to enable Hyper-V in the optional features dialog. This only works if you have Windows 11 Pro/Enterprise or higher.
This just make VMware ultra slow!
Then try creating the VM in VMWare after converting the vhdx to vmdk. Maybe it will work?
Windows 10 should've been named Windows X

WinXPFan
User avatar
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2021 3:11 pm

Re: Windows 10X in QEMU

Post by WinXPFan »

Set the OS to Windows 10 x64, and Idk if this works, never tried before.
I love Windows XP!
Windows XP Lives forever! :beta: :beta: :D :D

WindowsBetaX1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2021 5:13 am

Re: Windows 10X in QEMU

Post by WindowsBetaX1 »

Meow wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 1:57 pm
WindowsBetaX1 wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 8:01 am
Meow wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 5:21 am
WindowsBetaX1 wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 3:49 am
Meow wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 3:39 am


please read the error
and just hit no

You created a Hyper-V VM in VMWare. ActivateYourTech meant to enable Hyper-V in the optional features dialog. This only works if you have Windows 11 Pro/Enterprise or higher.
Can this works with windows 10x64 Vm?
edit: I'm using windows 11 pro
Hyper-V is supported on Windows 11 Pro. Probably best to use that since Windows 10X images are not able to be moved from one computer to another (this has already been pointed out)
I got this from my usb. So I moved the images.
As in “install on another computer using the same image”
Already did.

WindowsBetaX1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2021 5:13 am

Re: Windows 10X in QEMU

Post by WindowsBetaX1 »

WinXPFan wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 3:32 pm
Set the OS to Windows 10 x64, and Idk if this works, never tried before.
It just shows a .\. spinning

Meow
Posts: 332
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 5:28 am
Location: Earth

Re: Windows 10X in QEMU

Post by Meow »

WindowsBetaX1 wrote:
Wed Nov 24, 2021 1:21 am
WinXPFan wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 3:32 pm
Set the OS to Windows 10 x64, and Idk if this works, never tried before.
It just shows a .\. spinning
The Windows boot animation?
Windows 10 should've been named Windows X

WindowsBetaX1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2021 5:13 am

Re: Windows 10X in QEMU

Post by WindowsBetaX1 »

Meow wrote:
Wed Nov 24, 2021 3:19 am
WindowsBetaX1 wrote:
Wed Nov 24, 2021 1:21 am
WinXPFan wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 3:32 pm
Set the OS to Windows 10 x64, and Idk if this works, never tried before.
It just shows a .\. spinning
The Windows boot animation?
No. Sadly. It shows no operating system dectected :(

WindowsBetaX1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2021 5:13 am

Re: Windows 10X in QEMU

Post by WindowsBetaX1 »

BTW: I'm using vmware version 16.2 so instead of windows 10x64 it shows Windows10x64 and later

I use starwind converter to convert the vhdx to vmdk

Post Reply