Copland in vmware or VirtualBox?

Discuss System 1 to System 7, OS 8, OS 9.
Post Reply
ActivateYourTech
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2021 1:43 pm

Copland in vmware or VirtualBox?

Post by ActivateYourTech »

Hello

Can I use Copland in vmware or VirtualBox and how?

Thanks

Darkstar
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1051
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 1:29 pm
Location: Southern Germany

Re: Copland in vmware or VirtualBox?

Post by Darkstar »

Copland is a PowerPC operating system. That should answer your question
I upload stuff to archive.org from time to time. See here for everything that doesn't fit BA

WinXPFan
User avatar
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2021 3:11 pm

Re: Copland in vmware or VirtualBox?

Post by WinXPFan »

Use SheepShaver instead!
I love Windows XP!
Windows XP Lives forever! :beta: :beta: :D :D

anonymous74
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2020 9:47 pm

Re: Copland in vmware or VirtualBox?

Post by anonymous74 »

Copland only ran on a select few PowerPC Macs. No emulator is currently able to run it, not even SheepShaver, sorry :(
My chosen virtual machine programs:
Windows 9x+, Intel macOS: VMware Workstation Pro 16
Older than 9x: PCEm
PPC Mac OS: QEMU

Current Projects: Installing every beta build of Windows 7 in VMware (viewtopic.php?t=43052)
Past Projects: Installing every beta build of Windows XP, Longhorn, and Vista in VMware (https://www.betaarchive.com/wiki/index. ... nonymous74)

WinXPFan
User avatar
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2021 3:11 pm

Re: Copland in vmware or VirtualBox?

Post by WinXPFan »

Then if it was available on Moto 68k, then try BasiliskII. If there's an old world ROM of one of the select few macs which can run Copland, try using that rom with SheepShaver.
I love Windows XP!
Windows XP Lives forever! :beta: :beta: :D :D

anonymous74
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2020 9:47 pm

Re: Copland in vmware or VirtualBox?

Post by anonymous74 »

It's PPC only.

viewtopic.php?t=39187
^
There's a thread where someone tried every single build in sheepshaver. While some of them installed, none booted up all the way. Running Copland in an emulator would likely require someone to develop an emulator designed specifically to run it, similar to Shoebill, which runs A/UX. If or when that will happen is only up to our guessing for now.
My chosen virtual machine programs:
Windows 9x+, Intel macOS: VMware Workstation Pro 16
Older than 9x: PCEm
PPC Mac OS: QEMU

Current Projects: Installing every beta build of Windows 7 in VMware (viewtopic.php?t=43052)
Past Projects: Installing every beta build of Windows XP, Longhorn, and Vista in VMware (https://www.betaarchive.com/wiki/index. ... nonymous74)

WinXPFan
User avatar
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2021 3:11 pm

Re: Copland in vmware or VirtualBox?

Post by WinXPFan »

A/UX is Unix-based classic Mac OS, but Copland is an alpha release of Mac OS 8!
I love Windows XP!
Windows XP Lives forever! :beta: :beta: :D :D

AlphaBeta
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 2296
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 4:33 pm
Location: Czechia

Re: Copland in vmware or VirtualBox?

Post by AlphaBeta »

WinXPFan wrote:
Fri Nov 12, 2021 6:16 am
Copland is an alpha release of Mac OS 8!
no it's not
AlphaBeta, stop brainwashing me immediately!

Image

ActivateYourTech
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2021 1:43 pm

Re: Copland in vmware or VirtualBox?

Post by ActivateYourTech »

WinXPFan wrote:
Fri Nov 12, 2021 6:16 am
A/UX is Unix-based classic Mac OS, but Copland is an alpha release of Mac OS 8!
It is a version of macOS that was canceled

Post Reply