Can't get GTA Vice City to work.

Discuss any beta and abandonware games.
Post Reply
luis30boden
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2021 10:05 am
Location: Grimsby, England

Can't get GTA Vice City to work.

Post by luis30boden »

Hi, I downloaded GTA Vice City from the FTP server and now i've downloaded it, mounted the .mdf file and installed, I have the play disc mounted and when I go to play the reading disc cursor is always active and nothing happens only GTA VC.exe has a CPU usage around 20 - 25% all of the time. Please can you help? Oh yeah and my compatiblity settings is set to Windows XP on SP3 and I'm running on Windows 10.
Thanks.
Image

mrpijey
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 8676
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't get GTA Vice City to work.

Post by mrpijey »

The game does have copy protection, so it may prevent you from running the game.
Image
Official guidelines: The Definitive Guide to BetaArchive :: Abandonware
Channels: Discord :: Twitter

luis30boden
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2021 10:05 am
Location: Grimsby, England

Re: Can't get GTA Vice City to work.

Post by luis30boden »

mrpijey wrote:
Mon Nov 08, 2021 3:40 pm
The game does have copy protection, so it may prevent you from running the game.
Ok I see it is I'll see what I can do but technically it is the original disc even though it is a copy though.
Image

computebrute
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 664
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 12:00 am
Location: us

Re: Can't get GTA Vice City to work.

Post by computebrute »

The copy protection is still active, even with the MDF mounted, as it is not a physical disk. Of course, there are some nocd cracks out there
Image
Image

luis30boden
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2021 10:05 am
Location: Grimsby, England

Re: Can't get GTA Vice City to work.

Post by luis30boden »

computebrute wrote:
Mon Nov 08, 2021 4:54 pm
The copy protection is still active, even with the MDF mounted, as it is not a physical disk. Of course, there are some nocd cracks out there
Ofcourse! :P
Image

LenniX3
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2021 7:07 pm

Re: Can't get GTA Vice City to work.

Post by LenniX3 »

for me it worked with the ddraw.dll file

luis30boden
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2021 10:05 am
Location: Grimsby, England

Re: Can't get GTA Vice City to work.

Post by luis30boden »

LenniX3 wrote:
Wed Nov 10, 2021 3:52 pm
for me it worked with the ddraw.dll file
I have only just seen your comment now, I have got the silent patch ddraw.dll but it has the same issue, I even tried to install the silent patch itself with the .dll
Image

Post Reply