BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Database Screenshots Gallery Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 37d, 12h, 34m | CPU: 100% | MEM: 5575MB of 8191MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: I can't install Windows NT 5.0 Build 2072+ in VirtualBox        Posted: Sat Jan 11, 2020 1:35 am 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jul 01, 2018 10:34 pm

Posts
13

Location
Peru

Favourite OS
Windows 10 17134
When I try to boot the system ISO to be able to install this build or a higher one, it simply stays until Setup is starting Windows 2000. Is there any way to fix it?

And if not, how can I install a graphics driver to Windows NT that works with VMware? (because in that virtualizer it works, but I only have the 16 colors mode), because the ones I have don't work for me.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: I can't install Windows NT 5.0 Build 2072+ in VirtualBox        Posted: Sat Jan 11, 2020 4:45 am 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jul 10, 2018 5:18 am

Posts
39

Location
Semarang, Central Java, Indonesia

Favourite OS
Windows XP Pro SP3
AndreMor wrote:
And if not, how can I install a graphics driver to Windows NT that works with VMware? (because in that virtualizer it works, but I only have the 16 colors mode), because the ones I have don't work for me.


Try VBE driver, maybe? :o
https://bearwindows.zcm.com.au/vbemp.htm

_________________
Thinking of the past...

Now I'm on Escargot! Just add me on your contacts using my e-mail (The MSNM button after my signature) and chat me away!
Image

Code:
import this


Instagram | DeviantArt


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: I can't install Windows NT 5.0 Build 2072+ in VirtualBox        Posted: Sat Jan 11, 2020 6:37 am 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jul 01, 2018 10:34 pm

Posts
13

Location
Peru

Favourite OS
Windows 10 17134
TwilyDev wrote:
AndreMor wrote:
And if not, how can I install a graphics driver to Windows NT that works with VMware? (because in that virtualizer it works, but I only have the 16 colors mode), because the ones I have don't work for me.


Try VBE driver, maybe? :o
https://bearwindows.zcm.com.au/vbemp.htm


I'm sorry, but it didn't work out. I got the STOP screen. Possibly because the system I'm using on the VM is a beta and that driver expects updated versions of Windows (such as a Windows NT 4 SP6 or Windows 2000 SP4).

If someone has another solution, you can put it here.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: I can't install Windows NT 5.0 Build 2072+ in VirtualBox        Posted: Sat Jan 11, 2020 2:58 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Nov 22, 2017 5:39 pm

Posts
187

Location
Somewhere in 86Box

Favourite OS
ME 2358, LH 3713 and 4042 main
Just don't use VirtualBox or VMware for some of these Windows NT 5.0 betas. Use PCem or 86Box, they emulate a real machine from around the time these builds came out and thus have less problems. Alongside, you can also get the graphics card to work on all of these.

Also, even if you could get it to install in VirtualBox, I highly doubt that you'll be able to install a graphic driver in it anyways.

_________________
Image

BetaWiki contributor.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: I can't install Windows NT 5.0 Build 2072+ in VirtualBox        Posted: Sat Jan 11, 2020 5:19 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Feb 11, 2007 11:27 am

Posts
66

Location
Vienna (AUT)

Favourite OS
WfW 3.11
Use PCem with K6 emulation..slower but avoids incompatibility issues

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: I can't install Windows NT 5.0 Build 2072+ in VirtualBox        Posted: Sun Jan 12, 2020 7:00 am 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jul 01, 2018 10:34 pm

Posts
13

Location
Peru

Favourite OS
Windows 10 17134
BF10 wrote:
Just don't use VirtualBox or VMware for some of these Windows NT 5.0 betas. Use PCem or 86Box, they emulate a real machine from around the time these builds came out and thus have less problems. Alongside, you can also get the graphics card to work on all of these.

1. Do you know of any ROM that can boot from CD-ROM? The ROMs I have can't do that. I did the classic method of starting from MS-DOS, but I got this.

Image

2. More than the reason that I go slow like the PCs of that time, my processor is not able to keep emulating 100% a processor with the minimum requirements to run that system.

BF10 wrote:
Also, even if you could get it to install in VirtualBox, I highly doubt that you'll be able to install a graphic driver in it anyways.

I have a video driver for VirtualBox that works for any version of Windows NT up to Windows 7. That's why I had the idea to install it there.

xyz wrote:
Use PCem with K6 emulation..slower but avoids incompatibility issues

I'm going to try.


Last edited by AndreMor on Mon Jan 13, 2020 3:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: I can't install Windows NT 5.0 Build 2072+ in VirtualBox        Posted: Sun Jan 12, 2020 1:27 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 12, 2012 4:33 pm

Posts
2093

Location
Czechia
AndreMor wrote:
1. Do you know of any ROM that can boot from CD-ROM? The ROMs I have can't do that. I did the classic method of starting from MS-DOS, but I got this.

86Box's Shuttle HOT-557 ought to work fine in most cases.

AndreMor wrote:
2. More than the reason that I go slow like the PCs of that time, my processor is not able to keep emulating 100% a processor with the minimum requirements to run that system.

That's quite vague. What is your exact guest configuration? What PC do you run the emulator on?

_________________
AlphaBeta, stop brainwashing me immediately!

Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: I can't install Windows NT 5.0 Build 2072+ in VirtualBox        Posted: Mon Jan 13, 2020 3:08 am 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jul 01, 2018 10:34 pm

Posts
13

Location
Peru

Favourite OS
Windows 10 17134
AlphaBeta wrote:
86Box's Shuttle HOT-557 ought to work fine in most cases.


I got it.

AlphaBeta wrote:
That's quite vague. What is your exact guest configuration? What PC do you run the emulator on?


Intel Core i3-4160 @ 3.60Ghz, Pentium 166 for the guest


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: I can't install Windows NT 5.0 Build 2072+ in VirtualBox        Posted: Mon Jan 13, 2020 2:31 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 12, 2012 4:33 pm

Posts
2093

Location
Czechia
AlphaBeta wrote:
That's quite vague. What is your exact guest configuration? What PC do you run the emulator on?


Intel Core i3-4160 @ 3.60Ghz, Pentium 166 for the guest[/quote]
Oh, I have the same CPU. From my observations, Pentium 75 should run at more or less full speed. NT5 is not particularly demanding in terms of CPU speed.

_________________
AlphaBeta, stop brainwashing me immediately!

Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: I can't install Windows NT 5.0 Build 2072+ in VirtualBox        Posted: Sat Feb 15, 2020 9:46 am 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 26, 2019 3:38 am

Posts
49

Location
Shanghai,China

Favourite OS
Windows NT 4.0 SP6a & 5.0
Once I was trying to install win2k beta3 (Both 1946 & 2000),I stuck at the same "Setup is starting Windows 2000" interface.

_________________
Wonders in NT5.0,but it's shattered.
I'm a real and crazy "Windows Neo-Techie"!
I want to learn more about NT5.0's artwork.
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: I can't install Windows NT 5.0 Build 2072+ in VirtualBox        Posted: Sat Feb 15, 2020 10:10 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 23, 2019 12:41 pm

Posts
27

Location
Indonesia

Favourite OS
Cairo 1175
Use PCem , I'm using PCem for several months instaling NT buillds

Sent from Internet Explorer inside Windows 98 SE

_________________
Image

“Be yourself, everyone else is already taken.”
― Oscar Wilde


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: I can't install Windows NT 5.0 Build 2072+ in VirtualBox        Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2020 9:03 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 11, 2014 4:46 pm

Posts
40

Location
Bacau, Romania

Favourite OS
4.10.2222A
Another option would be tapping F5 as soon as the "Press F6 to load drivers" text appears. Not sure if it was documented, but this brings up the ACPI menu where you can select "Standard PC" (which means non-ACPI).

I remember doing this on a Aspire One D260 where I wanted to install Windows 2000 Pro SP4. Almost managed it but the GPU drivers are a pain in the arse.

_________________
My PCs:
PC - Intel Core i5-3470 3.6GHz,16GB RAM,500W FSP Bluestorm II PSU,2x1TB,Samsung DVD-RW drive,Windows 10 x64,Gigabyte B75M-D3H
Aspire 6930G - Intel Core 2 Duo T9400, 6GB RAM, 90W Acer charger, 1TB HDD+500GB HDD, Sony-Optiarc DVD-RW, Windows 7 x64


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: I can't install Windows NT 5.0 Build 2072+ in VirtualBox        Posted: Sun Feb 23, 2020 3:07 am 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jul 01, 2018 10:34 pm

Posts
13

Location
Peru

Favourite OS
Windows 10 17134
Schneider616 wrote:
Another option would be tapping F5 as soon as the "Press F6 to load drivers" text appears. Not sure if it was documented, but this brings up the ACPI menu where you can select "Standard PC" (which means non-ACPI).


Wow! It worked! Thank you very much for that solution!


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2020

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS