Windows Neptune Only Running in 16-color Mode

Discuss Windows 2000, NT, XP and Windows Server 2000, 2003, SBS 2003.
geminiman112

Windows Neptune Only Running in 16-color Mode

Post by geminiman112 »

Hello, Beta Archive. This is is my first post.

I have just installed Windows Neptune (the de-timebombed ISO version) on VirtualBox. I have managed to install Firefox 12, but I am stuck in sixteen-color mode. I tried to install the drivers found within vbempg.zip and videomp3.img, but it did not work. However, I am not entirely sure if I am installing those drivers correctly. This is the first beta operating system which I have tried, and thus I am not experienced with how these beta operating systems work. If anybody knows how to fix this, their help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

EDIT: I was able to get it working on VirtualBox using Guest Additions. I don't know about VMWare, which I also have, but it is fine for now.

TuneableSumo876

Re: Windows Neptune Only Running in 16-color Mode

Post by TuneableSumo876 »

FYI, when it comes to the VirtualBox Guest Additions, Neptune behaves exactly like Windows 2000.
Offtopic Comment
What's the distinction between Neptune and Whistler?

AlphaBeta
Donator

Post by AlphaBeta »

For VMware the VM additions for Windows 2000 should work.
TuneableSumo876 wrote:
Offtopic Comment
What's the distinction between Neptune and Whistler?
Neptune and Whistler are two completely distinct projects coming from two radically different roadmaps for NT.
AlphaBeta, stop brainwashing me immediately!

TuneableSumo876

Aren't NepTune and Whistler both based on Win2K? And are there other NepTune builds besides 5111 in existence?

And is there a way I could extract the HTML source for NepTune's full-screen logon page? I'd like to see how it's designed.

Overdoze

Post by Overdoze »

TuneableSumo876 wrote:Aren't NepTune and Whistler both based on Win2K? And are there other NepTune builds besides 5111 in existence?