BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 0d, 2h, 19m | CPU: 27% | MEM: 6687MB of 24567MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Longhorn LDDM Bootscreen AVI        Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2017 11:58 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 28, 2014 2:37 pm

Posts
24

Location
The United Kingdom

Favourite OS
6.0.4074
Hi All,
Today I was researching the Longhorn LDDM boot screen, but I could't find any videos of it. Enabling it in VMWare was impossible (Black Screen)
Offtopic Comment
I know it wouldn't work. But there's no harm in trying, is there?

Anyway, I decided to extract all the BMP's in the banimres.sys file on 4074 and compile it into an AVI, I uploaded it to YouTube, Take a look!



I know that there's a lot of information about it on this site, but I couldn't find a video of it.

Edit:
LuLu wrote:
YT degrades quality, beter dump it on some host site for others to see it
Here's the AVI!
https://mega.nz/#!1SRHlDaS!DctgpdqvE53S ... akviuhhQH8

_________________
Image


Last edited by SuperThecomputergeek on Sat Jul 15, 2017 1:42 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Longhorn LDDM Bootscreen AVI        Posted: Sat Jul 15, 2017 12:43 am 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Mon Dec 12, 2016 5:32 am

Posts
39

Favourite OS
NT 5 & 6
think you needed some intel drivers to make it work
but not sure, it was looong time ago...

anyways YT degrades quality, beter dump it on some host site for others to see it


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Longhorn LDDM Bootscreen AVI        Posted: Sat Jul 15, 2017 8:53 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Nov 04, 2013 7:05 pm

Posts
107

Location
/dev/null

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4074, Whistler 2419
Yes, it needed Intel LDDM (Longhorn Display Driver Model) drivers in order to get it working. LH 4074 does have drivers for some Intel graphics, but as far as I know, they don’t work properly and you can’t get this bootscreen working in OS anyway.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Longhorn LDDM Bootscreen AVI        Posted: Sun Jul 16, 2017 1:08 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Mon Jul 23, 2012 9:40 pm

Posts
804

Favourite OS
NT3.X Family
Ciastex had a modified working one more or less.

Image

_________________
Quote:
"C makes it easy to shoot yourself in the foot; C++ makes it harder, but when you do it blows your whole leg off"


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Longhorn LDDM Bootscreen AVI        Posted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 1:53 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Jul 21, 2013 7:38 am

Posts
155

Favourite OS
9431
yourepicfailure wrote:
Ciastex had a modified working one more or less.

Image


This is the 6801 boot animation...
Is there a patched version with 4074 resources?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Longhorn LDDM Bootscreen AVI        Posted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 10:56 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Mon Jul 23, 2012 9:40 pm

Posts
804

Favourite OS
NT3.X Family
BetaNewbie wrote:
This is the 6801 boot animation...
Is there a patched version with 4074 resources?


viewtopic.php?f=62&t=20631
Here's the reason he said original 4074 resources do not work.

Ciastex wrote:
A one more thing that I discovered is not LDDM driver requirement for banimres.sys, but too big depth for displaying it. I replaced some resources in bootanim.sys linked in this post with some frames from banimres.sys and guess what. It didn't appear. Don't believe me? Here are resources from banimres.sys. Try to replace 10-15 frames. They will not appear.

_________________
Quote:
"C makes it easy to shoot yourself in the foot; C++ makes it harder, but when you do it blows your whole leg off"


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Longhorn LDDM Bootscreen AVI        Posted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 3:38 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:56 pm

Posts
598

Location
Vienna, Austria
Well I have patched the Windows 7 bootscreen back in the days. It was possible IF you're redoing the bmps (they have to be in a specific size) and drop some frames (IIRC only about 1/4 - 1/3 of the frames could be used). It did look like [censored] since it was way too small or skewed.


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: koro.maki, Yahoo [Bot] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2017

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS