Windows 95C on floppy disk

Discuss Windows 95, 98 and ME.
alcid34

Windows 95C on floppy disk

Post by alcid34 »

I wonder if there is a version of the C variant of Windows 95 on Floppy Disk? I am aware that Windows 95B (OSR2) has 28 floppies and also the first version of Windows 98 with 39 floppies. 95C was something in between, so did it get floppies? And if so, how many are required to install?
Pokemon Master Timothy, the greatest Pokemon Brainiac since Ash Ketchum, at your service. I'm also a beginner programmer and Windows Lover!

The Distractor

Re: Windows 95C on floppy disk

Post by The Distractor »

OSR2.5 never got released on floppies.

sdfox7
Donator

Post by sdfox7 »

alcid34 wrote:I wonder if there is a version of the C variant of Windows 95 on Floppy Disk? I am aware that Windows 95B (OSR2) has 28 floppies and also the first version of Windows 98 with 39 floppies. 95C was something in between, so did it get floppies? And if so, how many are required to install?
Just to add to The Distractor's post, the problem with releasing Windows 95 C on floppy is that by that time, the OS had simply grown too large to make floppy distribution practical.

RTM Windows 95 was only around 25MB and did not include Internet Explorer (see here).

By the time Windows 95 B and C got released, it bundled Internet Explorer 3 / 4 and USB support, and was between 300MB to 500MB (see here and here).
ThinkPad 600E, T23, T41, T61p. ASUS X555 A12 Quad Core 16GB RAM Win10/Win7
My name is Stephen Fox. I am a '18 BBA and '20 MBA student at WCSU.
Disable Google Chrome End of Support Infobar on Windows XP/Vista

Battler
Donator

Post by Battler »

- sdfox7: But Windows 98 was released on floppies and it was bigger than 95 C. So I don't think size was the reason.
Main developer of the 86Box emulator.
Join the 86Box Discord server, a nice community for true enthusiasts and 86Box supports!

The anime channel is on the Ring of Lightning Discord server.