BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 3d, 14h, 19m | CPU: 41% | MEM: 6802MB of 24567MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Windows 98 Setup Problems (RAM related?)        Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2017 9:02 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 15, 2016 4:38 am

Posts
3

Favourite OS
SystemOS 14920
Hello everyone,

Recently I have been trying to install Windows 98 on an older Windows XP workstation. (2GB Of Ram, Xeon CPU). The problem is that whenever I try to start "setup.exe" from DOS, I get the error "Setup cannot find a high memory manager and cannot continue. ERROR: Unable to control A20 line! XMS Driver not installed.". I read online that Windows 98 and older had problems with amounts of ram over 512MB, and I was wonder if there was a patch or workaround I could use besides actually taking out a RAM stick?


Thanks.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Windows 98 Setup Problems (RAM related?)        Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2017 7:33 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Apr 25, 2014 5:37 pm

Posts
295

Location
Poland

Favourite OS
3.11 WfW, 4.10.2222A, 5.01.2462
There's, but it isn't free. 1 GB of RAM is fine, after installation use this: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/304943

_________________
Garnet.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Windows 98 Setup Problems (RAM related?)        Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2017 9:54 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Jan 04, 2017 3:12 pm

Posts
3

Favourite OS
Windows Vista 5259
This probably means you're missing himem.sys. Try booting from a win98 boot floppy, or make sure it's loaded on boot by checking config.sys.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Windows 98 Setup Problems (RAM related?)        Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2017 11:39 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Jul 05, 2016 6:57 am

Posts
101

Location
Texas, USA

Favourite OS
MacOS 9.2.2
Windows 95 OSR1/2/2.5 won't boot with more than 0.5gb installed. 98 (Not SE) has a similar bug, which as I remember is also 0.5GB, whereas 98SE fully patched or Millennium will work with 1GB. No DOS-based Windows release supports 2GB of memory to my knowledge.


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
 PostPost subject: Re: Windows 98 Setup Problems (RAM related?)        Posted: Thu Jan 05, 2017 7:27 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 02, 2013 9:32 am

Posts
63

Location
Elmont, NY USA

Favourite OS
98SE++
With my Patch, Windows 95C, 98, 98SE and ME can support up to 4GiB of RAM.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Windows 98 Setup Problems (RAM related?)        Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 10:39 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sun Feb 07, 2016 10:16 pm

Posts
16

Favourite OS
Windows ME
rloews Patch works very well if you want to use more than 1GB RAM and Windows 98 wont normally start with 2GB RAM, but I think that you have a different problem as well, I was able to install Windows 98 with more RAM, but I could not start it afterwards.
I would follow ricklaptops advice and boot from a boot floppy or a boot cd.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Windows 98 Setup Problems (RAM related?)        Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 2:17 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Feb 13, 2009 5:00 pm

Posts
137
I think that the problem is related to the A20 gate controller. In my Award BIOS I have to change to Fast (from Normal) to make the installer run. Maybe your BIOS is too new to include it? Check it anyway. Personally, I don't know what the [censored] it is, I'm not a technician. ;) But you need to enable it. It's something related to the high memory.

The problem with too much memory won't show you during installation, just after that, during the first boot into the system. Make sure to plug out some memory sticks(512MB is maximum amount as far as I know) or after each reboot during the installation, insert system floppy and edit with editor system.ini by adding MaxPhysPage=10000 in 386Enh section.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2017

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS