BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Database Screenshots Gallery Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 28d, 5h, 20m | CPU: 32% | MEM: 5776MB of 11991MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Windows 95 CGA mode        Posted: Sat Feb 20, 2016 11:29 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 18, 2013 7:26 pm

Posts
278

Location
Edinburgh, Scotland

Favourite OS
Windows for Workgroups 3.11
Most of you have probably seen pictures of Windows 95 running with an EGA video driver.
Windows 95 doesn't ship with an EGA driver, however it is able to use an EGA driver from Windows 3.1, similarly to how Windows 3.1 could use a CGA driver from Windows 3.0.

A good question is whether Win 95 can use the CGA driver from Win 3.0 (which was the last version to provide one). Running Windows on a 640x200 resolution MONO has always been painful, and one can expect Win95 to be close to impossible to operate. That is, assuming that you can manage to load the CGA driver: however, Win95 RTM stoichally resists all attempts of being used with a CGA driver, showing an error message and defaulting to VGA.

Today, I found myself wondering whether the same happened with beta versions of Chicago. The oldest beta I could install is build 189 (the previous ones complain about media corruption when I try to install them, I wonder why). The result has been surprising: that beta DOES run at this resolution, albeit with all sorts of glitches (including an unavailable Start menu, no DOS prompt, several dialog boxes reduced to a width of a few pixels).
Here's what it looks like:

Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Windows 95 CGA mode        Posted: Sun Feb 21, 2016 9:59 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Aug 18, 2014 10:47 pm

Posts
219

Location
Italy

Favourite OS
Windows XP
Offtopic Comment
This is acutally pretty cool

_________________
Greifi Grishnackh wrote:
There are more mistakes in two lines of Ubuntu's code than in Windows since version 3.1 to today.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Windows 95 CGA mode        Posted: Sun Feb 21, 2016 2:56 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 14, 2010 1:29 pm

Posts
864

Location
Southern Germany

Favourite OS
IRIX 5.3
I keep looking at the screenshot and I'm struggling between "wow this is cool" and "OH MY GOD WHY???"

:-D

_________________
I upload stuff to archive.org from time to time. See here for everything that doesn't fit BA


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Windows 95 CGA mode        Posted: Sun Feb 21, 2016 4:22 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 16, 2012 1:28 am

Posts
178

Location
PATH=C:\DOS
Finally, Windows 95 for my Deskpro 386/16 with amber CGA graphics :D

Might just have to try that out sometime..

_________________
Preservation
How could you know where you want to go today if you don't even know where you've been?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Windows 95 CGA mode        Posted: Sun Feb 21, 2016 5:30 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 07, 2006 12:04 pm

Posts
2797

Favourite OS
Anything checked :P
xelloss wrote:
The oldest beta I could install is build 189 (the previous ones complain about media corruption when I try to install them, I wonder why).


You're using the wrong Beta Site ID/Password.

_________________
C H E C K E D . B U I L D S . A R E . A W E S O M E N E S S

Glitch City Laboratories ForumsSoftHistory Forumsirc.rol.im #softhistory,#galaxy

If you like my posts, donate me Dogecoin: DLnZV8DS3CaZmLKAVxL2aMijY2vUZeyjBi


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Windows 95 CGA mode        Posted: Sun Feb 21, 2016 6:04 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 18, 2013 7:26 pm

Posts
278

Location
Edinburgh, Scotland

Favourite OS
Windows for Workgroups 3.11
The Distractor wrote:
xelloss wrote:
The oldest beta I could install is build 189 (the previous ones complain about media corruption when I try to install them, I wonder why).


You're using the wrong Beta Site ID/Password.

Yeah, that's what the various threads on Chicago said.
Maybe I'll dedicate more time to it in the future, but it's frustrating because it takes quite some time between when you enter the Beta ID/Password and when Setup complains about the installation media.
And every time you have to start from the beginning...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Windows 95 CGA mode        Posted: Sun Feb 21, 2016 7:15 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 07, 2006 12:04 pm

Posts
2797

Favourite OS
Anything checked :P
xelloss wrote:
The Distractor wrote:
xelloss wrote:
The oldest beta I could install is build 189 (the previous ones complain about media corruption when I try to install them, I wonder why).


You're using the wrong Beta Site ID/Password.

Yeah, that's what the various threads on Chicago said.
Maybe I'll dedicate more time to it in the future, but it's frustrating because it takes quite some time between when you enter the Beta ID/Password and when Setup complains about the installation media.
And every time you have to start from the beginning...


http://proxima.rol.im/chicakey.html

_________________
C H E C K E D . B U I L D S . A R E . A W E S O M E N E S S

Glitch City Laboratories ForumsSoftHistory Forumsirc.rol.im #softhistory,#galaxy

If you like my posts, donate me Dogecoin: DLnZV8DS3CaZmLKAVxL2aMijY2vUZeyjBi


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Windows 95 CGA mode        Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 4:28 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Apr 25, 2014 6:19 pm

Posts
1057
*nevermind, I completely misread...*

_________________
Image


Last edited by ovctvct on Mon Feb 29, 2016 4:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Windows 95 CGA mode        Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2016 4:44 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 12, 2012 4:33 pm

Posts
1997

Location
Czechia
ovctvct wrote:
If you mean 95 in monochrome, there is a registry edit possible, posted on toastytech, that allows running in 2 color(monochrome) mode.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Color_Graphics_Adapter

_________________
AlphaBeta, stop brainwashing me immediately!

Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Windows 95 CGA mode        Posted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 11:59 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Apr 25, 2014 6:19 pm

Posts
1057
AlphaBeta wrote:
ovctvct wrote:
If you mean 95 in monochrome, there is a registry edit possible, posted on toastytech, that allows running in 2 color(monochrome) mode.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Color_Graphics_Adapter

Yes, I know that CGA is color, but the OP screenshots are monochrome(or so they look).

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Windows 95 CGA mode        Posted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 12:36 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 18, 2013 7:26 pm

Posts
278

Location
Edinburgh, Scotland

Favourite OS
Windows for Workgroups 3.11
ovctvct wrote:
AlphaBeta wrote:
ovctvct wrote:
If you mean 95 in monochrome, there is a registry edit possible, posted on toastytech, that allows running in 2 color(monochrome) mode.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Color_Graphics_Adapter

Yes, I know that CGA is color, but the OP screenshots are monochrome(or so they look).

That's not VGA mono, but CGA "high" resolution. CGA only provides colours at a resolution of 320x200, which was never adequate for running to run a GUI: not even in 1985, when Windows 1.0 was released.
Thus Windows CGA drivers used the monochrome CGA mode, which provides a resolution of 640x200 with a decidedly rectangular pixel aspect ratio.
That's why the graphics in the picture looks distorted.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Windows 95 CGA mode        Posted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 4:03 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 14, 2010 1:29 pm

Posts
864

Location
Southern Germany

Favourite OS
IRIX 5.3
xelloss wrote:
... a resolution of 320x200 [...] was never adequate for running to run[sic] a GUI: not even in 1985, when Windows 1.0 was released.

I beg to differ. Have you ever heard of GEOS or TOS? :-)

_________________
I upload stuff to archive.org from time to time. See here for everything that doesn't fit BA


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Windows 95 CGA mode        Posted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 4:30 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu Mar 29, 2012 4:14 pm

Posts
1235
ovctvct wrote:
Yes, I know that CGA is color, but the OP screenshots are monochrome(or so they look).
OP shows 189 using CGA, RTM+ using Monochrome is way different. Reading is hard, I see.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Windows 95 CGA mode        Posted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 5:04 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 18, 2013 7:26 pm

Posts
278

Location
Edinburgh, Scotland

Favourite OS
Windows for Workgroups 3.11
Darkstar wrote:
xelloss wrote:
... a resolution of 320x200 [...] was never adequate for running to run[sic] a GUI: not even in 1985, when Windows 1.0 was released.

I beg to differ. Have you ever heard of GEOS or TOS? :-)

Yeah, I made an unnecessarily strong statement, but it was a hyperbole. Doing real work at a 320x200 resolution is quite painful.

(Why do you think that "running a graphical user interface" is not proper English?)

Edit: nevermind, I now see what I really wrote...


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2019

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS