BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Database Screenshots Gallery Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 1d, 14h, 30m | CPU: 7% | MEM: 4862MB of 8191MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Forum rules


Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Kung fu Panda: The game graphics problem        Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2011 3:01 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Dec 14, 2010 4:02 pm

Posts
5750
I've installed Kung fu Panda: The Game (I just love that game ^^ ) and under "Video" options I can only select "Low" graphics. Even on my old desktop (Singlecore AMD Sempron 1.6 GHz; 1 GB DDR 533 MHz and ATI Radeon X1600 Pro) I could select "High" graphics, but not on my laptop that has Dualcore Intel Core i5 2.5 GHz; 4 GB DDR3 and ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5470.

Any suggestions on how to fix this because I know the laptop could easily handle "High" graphics, but the game won't let me select it...


Solved. It seems there was a problem with drivers...


Last edited by DeFacto on Sat Jul 21, 2012 10:37 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Kung fu Panda: The game graphics problem        Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2011 3:02 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 18, 2010 6:54 pm

Posts
1798

Location
Cambridgeshire, England, UK

Favourite OS
Arch Linux
DeFacto wrote:
I've installed Kung fu Panda: The Game (I just love that game ^^ ) and under "Video" options I can only select "Low" graphics. Even on my old desktop (Singlecore AMD Sempron 1.6 GHz; 1 GB DDR 533 MHz and ATI Radeon X1600 Pro) I could select "High" graphics, but not on my laptop that has Dualcore Intel Core i5 2.5 GHz; 4 GB DDR3 and ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5470.

Any suggestions on how to fix this because I know the laptop could easily handle "High" graphics, but the game won't let me select it...

I'm guessing you have the drivers installed for the GPU, and that the game is properly supported on the OS you're using?

_________________
sup


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Kung fu Panda: The game graphics problem        Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2011 3:05 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Dec 14, 2010 4:02 pm

Posts
5750
I have switchable graphics; some cheap crap from Intel and the Radeon. Both drivers are properly installed and up-to-date. My OS is Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit. The game works fine otherwise. Too bad Activision never made any patches for it... :(


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Kung fu Panda: The game graphics problem        Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2011 3:06 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 18, 2010 6:54 pm

Posts
1798

Location
Cambridgeshire, England, UK

Favourite OS
Arch Linux
DeFacto wrote:
I have switchable graphics; some cheap crap from Intel and the Radeon. Both drivers are properly installed and up-to-date. My OS is Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit. The game works fine otherwise. Too bad Activision never made any patches for it... :(

Switchable graphics, eh? Maybe the integrated Intel GPU was being used when you tried setting the video to High.

_________________
sup


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Kung fu Panda: The game graphics problem        Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2011 3:08 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Dec 14, 2010 4:02 pm

Posts
5750
Impossible. I switched to Radeon before running the game. I can tell for sure when Radeon is in use: in game, Intel only lets me select resolution of 1024×768, while Radeon adds 1280×768 which I'm using ATM...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Kung fu Panda: The game graphics problem        Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2011 11:11 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:13 am

Posts
994

Location
With Waldo

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RTM
Just a suggestion, could the game be not optimized for laptop GPUs? It's possible right? If it has absolutely no support for mobile cards, could it restrict your settings?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Kung fu Panda: The game graphics problem        Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 9:23 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Dec 14, 2010 4:02 pm

Posts
5750
Quite possibly, since i have a Mobility Radeon and the officially supported graphics cards are "regular" Radeons...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Kung fu Panda: The game graphics problem        Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 1:26 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:13 am

Posts
994

Location
With Waldo

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RTM
There was an app, 3D something. Let me find it. It makes an .exe file think you're using a different video card. I remember it works very well since I used it to get the nVIDIA Steam Promo with an integrated Intel laptop card which barely ran the games.

EDIT: 3DAnalyze

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Kung fu Panda: The game graphics problem        Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 1:49 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Dec 14, 2010 4:02 pm

Posts
5750
Thanks, I'll give it a try later today...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Kung fu Panda: The game graphics problem        Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 8:00 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:13 am

Posts
994

Location
With Waldo

Favourite OS
Windows 7 RTM
Your welcome and did it work? If it didn't, the only other possibility would be to manually open the config file and change it to whatever you please.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Kung fu Panda: The game graphics problem        Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 1:09 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Dec 14, 2010 4:02 pm

Posts
5750
I actually fixed the problem by first re-installing Windows and then updating the Radeon driver. I can now select High settings, but unfortunately the gameplay isn't that smooth after that, if you know what you mean. The problem with this game is that it's too simple (but hey, it's targeted at kids right?) and therefore offers no advanced graphics settings, and there is no config file, all settings are stored within the main EXE...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Kung fu Panda: The game graphics problem        Posted: Sun Jul 22, 2012 4:09 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Dec 14, 2010 4:02 pm

Posts
5750
Just an update from my part, the settings are located in the registry, namely in:

Code:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Activision\Kung Fu Panda\Settings


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2020

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS