Awesome deal!

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Post Reply
Beta_Train
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 12:41 pm
Location: Nova Scotia Canada
Contact:

Awesome deal!

Post by Beta_Train »

I was lending my P3 to a friend as some of you may know. But he liked it so much that when I went to take it back, he offered me $100CAD and a 3.6GHz Pentium 4 Hyperthreading that wont get past BIOS, and a P4 that shows black at boot. Good deal or what?
-Beta_Train

Frozenport
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 1022
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:04 pm
Location: The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"
Contact:

Post by Frozenport »

Try to see if you can get the two things working but if you can't then don't take the deal because its always better to have something that works!
Image
Part Time Troll - HPC Enthusiast - Spelling Master - Old Fart

clt_42
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 316
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 8:37 pm
Location: Your Closet

Post by clt_42 »

if it's a bios issue try flashing the bios chip, it might work, if you want, ill pay 50 dollars for the bios messed p4. Also tell your friend i have lots of p3's. I could give him one, but most of them are worth alot, i also got a p3 made in germany, it's only 500 MHZ

moonlit
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 514
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:02 pm

Post by moonlit »

Depending on the spec of the PIII I'd take it. $100 isn't *too* bad, and it's likely that unless the P4's been destroyed by massive electrical problems then it has salvagable parts and may even be easy to restore by reseating components...

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12629
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Ive got a fair number of Slot 1 PIII's. Some of them even have 512KB cache which I find quite high for such an old CPU. One of these CPU's used to be my server. Worked great on the SCSI motherboard it goes onto.

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

I'd say it's definitely worth it as PIIIs aren't really worth anything these days (for instance I got a PIII low-profile HP PC from Freecycle a few weeks ago), so even ignoring the P4 PC that you're getting it's still quite a good deal!
Image

clt_42
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 316
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 8:37 pm
Location: Your Closet

Post by clt_42 »

once i overclocked a 486 to 300 MHZ, man it's still running with a mini heatsink and fan, since 2002

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

A 486, yeah, on stock Vcore as well, probably... Seriously, I don't believe a single word of that.

Bender
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1524
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Post by Bender »

clt_42 wrote:once i overclocked a 486 to 300 MHZ, man it's still running with a mini heatsink and fan, since 2002
Details, then maybe I'll believe it.
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"

Koptor
FTP Access
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 6:37 pm
Location: Lincolnshire UK

Post by Koptor »

clt_42 wrote:once i overclocked a 486 to 300 MHZ, man it's still running with a mini heatsink and fan, since 2002
pix or it didnt happen
lol, internet

HakerPL
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 5:34 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by HakerPL »

clt_42 wrote:once i overclocked a 486 to 300 MHZ, man it's still running with a mini heatsink and fan, since 2002
It's impossible, because 486 (Socket 3 boards) has max. 3x multiplier and max. FSB 50MHz (in most boards it's 33MHz), so max. speed is 150MHz.

fireshark

Post by fireshark »

I'd try out the P4's first and see what kind of problems they have. If its something that you can fix easily, sure...

Aztech

Post by Aztech »

HakerPL wrote:
clt_42 wrote:once i overclocked a 486 to 300 MHZ, man it's still running with a mini heatsink and fan, since 2002
It's impossible, because 486 (Socket 3 boards) has max. 3x multiplier and max. FSB 50MHz (in most boards it's 33MHz), so max. speed is 150MHz.
I currently own an Abit PB4 socket 3 mother board running an
AMD 5x86-P75 @133mhz
It runs at 4 x 33fsb, yet since the day I bought it I've been running it at
4 x 40mhz fsb @ 160mhz total, the most I have ever seen a socket 3
board run at was 200mhz using a genuine 5x86-P90 - 160 running 50fsb
instead of the default 40, though it didn't fire up everytime it was turned
on.
The cpu in question.
Another link for it

Perhaps he meant he overclocked it to 200 mhz, but again, it wont startup
on every attempt, 160mhz is the safest & most reliable overclocking, but
only if done with the board that supports the lower running voltage using
a genuine 133mhz cpu.
Sorry for the off topic post, just thought I'd point that out though.

Post Reply