Windows NT 4 Upgrade question

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Locked
Bender
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1524
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Windows NT 4 Upgrade question

Post by Bender »

If I buy NT4 upgrade, can I install it on a blank harddrive, and just put in a 95 cd like with the WinXP upgrades?
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"

Bender
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1524
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Post by Bender »

*waits*
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

Well I'm 99% sure that all upgrade versions of Windows only need you to show them proof that you have the copy you're upgrading from, as opposed to needing there to be an existing installation already on the hard drive. Probably best to wait for someone who's actually installed the upgrade version of NT4 to confirm this though (and confirm that 95 is eligible for the NT4 upgrade license and so it will accept that disk). Although non-upgrade copies of NT4 sell for next to nothing these days anyway (for instance I picked up a still-shrinkwrapped retail box for about £2.50 including postage not too long ago) so there's not really any reason to get the Upgrade version.
Image

KenOath

Post by KenOath »

Where my test computers reside { down the back of the workshop }
I keep some floppies & CD's for various OS testing, on one of the
floppies I keep a file called GDI.EXE for such instances where a beta or
OS i'm installing is an upgrade only...
When it gets to the part where it asks for validation or proof of
ownership of a previous version of windows, I just lead it to that floppy...
GDI.EXE can be found in any mini.cab from any Win9x CD or 1st floppy,
& in most cases on the bootdisks...
The contents of the mini cab is simply a Win3x 16bit GUI for viewing the
1st stage of the installation of the OS's & contains real files from a real
build of Win3x & therefore passes as proof of ownership of an ealier
build of Windows...
I was amazed when 1st discovering that it was that easy...

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

i was just about to ask if it read the cd label or a file

Locked