Longhorn 4008

Discuss Windows Vista, 7, 8.x, 10 and Windows Server 2008, 2008R2, 2012, 2016, 2019, Home Server, SBS 2008, SBS 2011.
ewan275
FTP Access
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:37 pm
Location: UK, Home of RISCOS

Longhorn 4008

Post by ewan275 »

I have got it fully working free of activation etc, and I risked the internet using IE6 (unpached) and five minuits in I got winfixer, however I came accross this system installed which detected it!!!!

Image
I have also found a possible reason why MS axed WINFS!

Image
Image

Namronia

Post by Namronia »

whould you upload it?

ewan275
FTP Access
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:37 pm
Location: UK, Home of RISCOS

Post by ewan275 »

Its already on the server, the Abyss Server 1, name Longhorn Beta Build 4008.rar
Image

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

I don't think there was any anti-spyware in these builds - what do you mean by a "system that detected it"? The thing in that screenshot looks like malware of some sort.
Image

ewan275
FTP Access
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:37 pm
Location: UK, Home of RISCOS

Post by ewan275 »

It looks like an early of Windows Defender, It detected winfixer (The box in the front) a rogue anti virus/ fixes everything piece of C***, the full scan removed it anyways.
Image

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

It looks more like malware itself to me, but I could be wrong (you know, that malware that looks like a malware scanner). Note that the Windows logo on it is the Vista one (where the centre of it is lighter than the outside), not the XP or Longhorn one, so it doesn't really look like an early Longhorn component. That big red button also doesn't look very Microsoft-y. How did you manage to get all that malware on it?!

Isn't the box in front just a JavaScript box coming from a website that tries to persuade you to install some junk? Note that it is an Internet Explorer dialog, not a program in itself.
Image

ewan275
FTP Access
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:37 pm
Location: UK, Home of RISCOS

Post by ewan275 »

Erm Ill get adaware on it, The adware is probably due to using a 2003 unpached IE6!

I know that box is adware!!!!! I was using to test something!!!!

edit: Yep I had 4 trogens, 8 browser exploits etc
Image

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

that just looks like spyware pretending to remove spyware that just installs more.

I think that was one of the reasons they removed winfs, they wouldn't have been able to make it stable in time for release

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

___ wrote:I think that was one of the reasons they removed winfs, they wouldn't have been able to make it stable in time for release
Yes, I installed WinFS Beta 1 on an XP virtual machine, and it had several background processes that were using very large amounts of Ram and CPU all the time, and the CPU and Ram usage figures in task manager were changing drastically all the time, which is usually a sign of extreme instability (note how all the system processes do this in the earlier Longhorn/Vista builds, but in released versions the numbers in task manager are always pretty much static).
Image

IsaacD
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 557
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:47 am
Location: Lismore, NSW, Australia

Post by IsaacD »

10 long years, frig the scene anymore.

Kids think they have deep in sources at the age of 12, why bother caring when no one receives respect anymore, they assume bullcrap, but that's all they are.
Last edited by IsaacD on Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Slavic Wog to the Core!

My Mark; Shall you RIP. 15/06/1960 - 11/04/2014

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

Alexsis wrote:And the reason WinFS takes up alot of ram? It isn't a memory leak, it's storing every single meta tag on every single file on your HDDs.

WinFS works fine, it takes up abit of ram, but has worked fine on every build of Longhorn I have tested, even the earliest ones, you just have to know what to do.
What do you have to do? Is there a simple guide somewhere to getting WinFS working properly and using it? I'd be interested to have a proper look at it sometime.

So does it work by storing all the file data in Ram all the time, rather than having some or all of it stored only on the hard drive)? If you've got a drive packed full of stuff then it must be unusable, considering the amount of memory it's using when we've had it on a fresh LH install with just the OS files. Does Spotlight on the Mac work in a similar way or is that a much simpler thing than WinFS, as that doesn't seem to cause a performance hit at all?
Image

IsaacD
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 557
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:47 am
Location: Lismore, NSW, Australia

Post by IsaacD »

10 long years, frig the scene anymore.

Kids think they have deep in sources at the age of 12, why bother caring when no one receives respect anymore, they assume bullcrap, but that's all they are.
Last edited by IsaacD on Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Slavic Wog to the Core!

My Mark; Shall you RIP. 15/06/1960 - 11/04/2014

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

that much memory just for searching is a waste for me, as i can't even remember the last time i used search. I just keeps files in a logical arrangment

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12622
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

I do the same but its rare I use search. I did use it last week to find a photo that went missing. Never did find it though...

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

it never exsisted

*picture of dog with shifty eyes here*

ewan275
FTP Access
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:37 pm
Location: UK, Home of RISCOS

Post by ewan275 »

Erm that bit of spyware is pretty sofiscated it is running under the explorer.exe module
Image

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12622
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

ewan275 wrote:Erm that bit of spyware is pretty sofiscated it is running under the explorer.exe module
Ive had a fair few pieces of spyware do that. Its annoying when you have to format the pc and start from scratch because of it.

Aaah the joys of a Ghost backup disk

ewan275
FTP Access
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:37 pm
Location: UK, Home of RISCOS

Post by ewan275 »

Unfortunatly for me Ghost refuses to install on a WINFS!!!!
Image

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

Andy wrote:Ive had a fair few pieces of spyware do that. Its annoying when you have to format the pc and start from scratch because of it.
ewan275 wrote:I risked the internet using IE6 (unpached) and five minuits in I got winfixer, however I came accross this system installed which detected it!!!!
Seriously, how do you guys manage to get so much junk on your computers?! I've never had spyware or viruses or anything (and yes, I know I don't have them, I'm not just one of these people who has them but is unaare of them). Unless you go to really dodgy websites and click yes to all the popups etc, or install suspect software usually advertised on such websites that promises to "clean" your PC, you just don't get this stuff!
Image

idontknow
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 149
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 11:39 pm

Post by idontknow »

I never ever get Spyware/Viruses too... I do scan for them though. You just have to be careful on what you do on the internet. Everytime I rebuild Windows is because of some crazy test that I'm trying out.

ewan275
FTP Access
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:37 pm
Location: UK, Home of RISCOS

Post by ewan275 »

A evil enemy called doubleclick.net which provides the ads on a load of legit sites, just it dosent control what it pops up, and as such inevertinly distributes stuff like winfixer cool web serch etc.
Image

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12622
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

ewan275 wrote:A evil enemy called doubleclick.net which provides the ads on a load of legit sites, just it dosent control what it pops up, and as such inevertinly distributes stuff like winfixer cool web serch etc.
Adblock for teh win I block all ads from even loading at all.

IsaacD
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 557
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:47 am
Location: Lismore, NSW, Australia

Post by IsaacD »

10 long years, frig the scene anymore.

Kids think they have deep in sources at the age of 12, why bother caring when no one receives respect anymore, they assume bullcrap, but that's all they are.
Last edited by IsaacD on Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Slavic Wog to the Core!

My Mark; Shall you RIP. 15/06/1960 - 11/04/2014

ThunderKiller

Post by ThunderKiller »

looks nice...how mch time needs the setup?

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

for longhorn? isn't 4008 one of the builds that installs really quickly but then you get heaps of 'found new hardware' on the first boot?

I don't know how so people get all this spyware and stuff as well. When ever i install XP, often it doesn't have any of the updates and i never manage to get all this crap while im downloading updates/software

Post Reply