Windows 3.1 on CD-ROM?

Discuss MS-DOS, Windows 1, 2 and 3.
Catweazle

Windows 3.1 on CD-ROM?

Post by Catweazle »

I seem to remember seeing this on ebay a few years ago. It was Windows 3.1 and MS-DOS 6.22 together on CD-ROM. I have not seen it since though so I'm not sure if this was an actual Microsoft release or just something someone made. Anyone have any information about it?

SaT
FTP Access
Posts: 394
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 5:44 pm
Location: Canada

Post by SaT »

well the 3.11 at msdn is 5 mb

File
EN_WIN311.exe Self-Extracting Executable
File Size
5 MB

and DOS

File
EN_MSDOS622.exe Self-Extracting Executable
File Size
11 MB

so i guess some1 made it

The 3.1 is gone @ msdn but we have 3.2

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

I know of some OEM releases that had MS-DOS 6.22 and a version of Windows 3.1x on a bootable CD.

Catweazle

Post by Catweazle »

Thanks, I found a picture of a Gateway version. I was sure I had seen one on eBay that looked like a retail CD but maybe I was mistaken.

http://www.oldsoftware.com/dos%206.html

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

The MSDN versions of Windows 3.1 were on CD - I have some CDs that have many different language versions of Windows and Windows for Workgroups on them - I've never seen a retail CD version though
Image

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

I have seen an OEM version of Windows for Workgroups 3.11 which came on a CD, sadly I don't have the CD anymore...

KenOath

Post by KenOath »

The early MSDN sets supplied all Win3x versions & Dos versions on CD.
One here I have has a CD with all language versions on it for both Dos &
Win3x..

Image
Last edited by KenOath on Fri Dec 29, 2006 2:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

seems kind of a waste to have about 5mb on a 700mb cd

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

___ wrote:seems kind of a waste to have about 5mb on a 700mb cd
There's more than one Windows 3.1 version on these MSDN CDs. There are multiple versions of it and these are in multiple languages each. This can fill the CD quickly.

Catweazle

Post by Catweazle »

Also standard CDs are only 650MB.

Thanks for the info, I'll have to watch for those.

XDude
Donator
Posts: 1518
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Post by XDude »

___ wrote:seems kind of a waste to have about 5mb on a 700mb cd
Microsoft put tons of extras in their cds. Go check a windiows 95 cd, you'll be suprised that it has 600MB of stuff.

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

i know that with the 95 cd, hover ruled

pr0gram the pr0grammer
Donator
Posts: 698
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm
Location: Or-stray-liagh

Post by pr0gram the pr0grammer »

___ wrote:i know that with the 95 cd, hover ruled
Hover for the win! The videos of Goodtimes and Buddy Holly by Weezer weren't too bad either... they need to bring back the random CD extras that seem to have slowly disappeared over the years.
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat

XDude
Donator
Posts: 1518
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Post by XDude »

___ wrote:i know that with the 95 cd, hover ruled
ahh, I love that game.the good old days
I wish microsoft include that many extras in vista.
I guess there is ultimate extras.

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

pr0gram the pr0grammer wrote:
___ wrote:i know that with the 95 cd, hover ruled
Hover for the win! The videos of Goodtimes and Buddy Holly by Weezer weren't too bad either... they need to bring back the random CD extras that seem to have slowly disappeared over the years.
i wish they printed manuals these days, not just slap a pdf onto a cd (in black and white)

AnDrEwP182
FTP Access
Posts: 342
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 5:53 pm
Location: Saint-Henri, Montréal, Québec

Post by AnDrEwP182 »

I liked CD Sampler until they abolished it in...
98 am I right?

os2fan2
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1291
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 8:12 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Contact:

Re: Windows 3.1 on CD-ROM?

Post by os2fan2 »

If you bought a computer that came with a cdrom as a standard feature, then it was pretty usual for the OEM to replace a great pile of diskettes with a cdrom. This disk normally did not just have dos and windows, but the drivers for the supplied hardware, and various other proggies that the OEM might ship with the box.

Sometimes it might be pre-installed setups (ie a set of superimplsed archives), while other times, you might be able to set the stuff up yourself.

It's not unusual to 'waste' diskettes on very little data. An average diskette might rate in 199x prices, say at 50c or so a disk, usually more. A pressed cd-rom is well under $4, so if you are putting together a proggie that uses 8 or more diskettes, then a cdrom is cheaper than the diskettes.

You should recall that in the time of Windows 3.1, a 500 MB hard drive was pretty much a very large thing. When i did my first cd-burn (an outsource job in 1995), i did a lot of calculations on the cost of these things, how much it would cost to master a disk etc. The limitations of the hard disks was 250 MB, the resulting disk cost 100$ or something.

When i got my burner in 1997, it cost 600$, and ran mainly under OS/2. Dos could not access enough of the hard disk to make burning profitable, and the disks cost 20$ ea. But you could do a custom reinstall of nearly everything in a few hours before tea, rather than a whole weekend.

MSHOME
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 10:18 am

Re: Windows 3.1 on CD-ROM?

Post by MSHOME »

Catweazle wrote:I seem to remember seeing this on ebay a few years ago. It was Windows 3.1 and MS-DOS 6.22 together on CD-ROM. I have not seen it since though so I'm not sure if this was an actual Microsoft release or just something someone made. Anyone have any information about it?
You can somehow set bootable CD with Windows 3.1 and DOS 6.22 with some programs.
Image

cantasan99
FTP Access
Posts: 901
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 3:37 pm
Location: Istanbul, Turkey

Re: Windows 3.1 on CD-ROM?

Post by cantasan99 »

Windows 3.0 with Multimedia (MWINDOWS) is in CD-ROM. But I don't know other releases.
Image

Turkish translator of Wine/Known as ctasan in ReactOS Forum
ReactOS Community Changelogs - Don't miss improvements!

Beta2.1Collector
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2013 5:44 pm

Re: Windows 3.1 on CD-ROM?

Post by Beta2.1Collector »

The MSDN Releases were on cds. With MSDOS 6.22 on.
There was no Retail CD's there were MSDN CD realeases.

ExplicitNuM5
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 478
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 2:13 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Windows 3.1 on CD-ROM?

Post by ExplicitNuM5 »

It isn't unreasonable to put Windows 3.x on CDs. As these days, we don't use flops anymore, right?
But it would seem a waste to put ~20 Mbs. of tiny fluff on a 700 Mb CD...
XDA-Developers: mr_verystock
Facebook: ___ ___ng
Skype: hellohellohello148
Google +: okcn .aline
Tom's Hardware : okcnaline
OSBetaArchive: ExplicitNuM5

os2fan2
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1291
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 8:12 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Contact:

Re: Windows 3.1 on CD-ROM?

Post by os2fan2 »

However, you are not just restricted to putting Windows on the disk. You can put DOS and drivers and applications on there as well. But as i mentioned earlier, eight disks is the cutover point where it's cheaper to press a cdrom than to make floppies. It's much less now: something like 2 disks.

cdroms are more robust than floppy disks, especially since they can't be written over.

FronzelNeekburm
FTP Access
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 8:12 am

Re: Windows 3.1 on CD-ROM?

Post by FronzelNeekburm »

I remember that a friend of mine had a legit German Windows 3.11 for Workgroups on CD-Rom. Back in the days that was pretty nifty to have it on CD, but yeah, the CD most probably wasn't "full" (as in "having no or nearly no space left"). But still better than a pack of floppies if you had a CD-Drive. I don't think the disc was bootable though.


Edit: Image stolen from ended ebay auction, but it looked kinda like that:

Image

Win95Fan
FTP Access
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 8:32 pm

Re: Windows 3.1 on CD-ROM?

Post by Win95Fan »

Unfortunately, Windows 3.1 was a floppy-only product.
I'm your biggest fan, Windows 9x series of operating systems!

WinPC

Re: Windows 3.1 on CD-ROM?

Post by WinPC »

Win95Fan wrote:Unfortunately, Windows 3.1 was a floppy-only product.
As far as I know, the actual official Microsoft media was only available in a floppy disk version, while system manufacturers provided their own CD-ROMs of it, as stated above.

Post Reply