Editing Build Tags?

Discussion of beta and abandonware topics not fit for the other forums goes here.
Post Reply
kLOTTiS
FTP Access
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 8:45 am
Location: New Zealand

Editing Build Tags?

Post by kLOTTiS »

Is there a way to edit windows build tags for all versions? (the ones displayed on the desktop in eval and beta versions) I am wanting to edit only Server 2003 Evaluation however it would be useful to me and everyone else who might read this to know for all versions? If its different for all versions then dont bother with all of them

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

i think it can be done in the registry, but it changes back after restarting the computer

SaT
FTP Access
Posts: 394
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 5:44 pm
Location: Canada

Post by SaT »

hmm edit the tag? something like chnageing Eval Copy for Testing pru...??

If yes i dont think theres a way 2 do it coz that stuff is @ some files in the setup.

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

There is a way to edit the version it shows, i.e. "Windows 2000 Professional" and that stuff. But I don't know if the build tag can be edited.

Luk001
FTP Access
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 9:29 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Luk001 »

In Vista the file you have to edit is User32.dll iirc, maybe it is the same on other OS
c(o.o)

Windows NT
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 9:38 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Windows NT »

imagacfg.exe vom NT3 new shell, with this little program you can edit the actual build number.
Windows "2000" is the worst OS ever, followed by Windows XP.

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Windows NT wrote:imagacfg.exe vom NT3 new shell, with this little program you can edit the actual build number.
It's imagecfg.exe IIRC.

TheWahbinator
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 550
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 7:45 pm

Post by TheWahbinator »

I'm pretty sure you'd have to look in win32k.sys for that.

Post Reply